Skip To Content

    12 Books To Read If You've Already Binged "The Crown"

    Something for everyone.

    1. Diana: Her True Story — In Her Own Words by Andrew Morton

    Simon & Schuster

    This biography, originally published in 1992, was monumental in the way the monarchy was viewed by the public, in no small part due to Diana's own involvement in the publication. This 25th anniversary edition adds even more insight into the late Diana, after Morton revisited the tapes they made initially, and also contemplates her legacy and continuing relevance to the royal family.

    2. The Crown: The Official Companions by Robert Lacey

    Crown Publishing Group

    If you're someone who watches The Crown while frantically googling things to see if they really happened, these are perfect for you. These companion novels to the show (the first covering Elizabeth between 1947-1955 and the second covering 1956-1977) are written by Robert Lacey, who is the historical consultant for the show. They contain images from the show itself alongside archival photos from history.

    3. Diana: Style Icon: A Celebration of the Fashion of Lady Diana Spencer, Princess of Wales by Dan Jones

    Hardie Grant Books

    As The Crown's recreation of some of her classic looks reminds us, Diana was an absolute style icon. This upcoming book showcases the evolution of Diana's style from 1981 to the '90s, with illustrations throughout, covering over 50 of her iconic outfits. In addition, there are profiles of some of her go-to designers!

    If you're looking for fictional accounts of British monarchs of the past...

    4. The Henriad Tetralogy (Richard II, Henry IV Part 1, Henry IV Part 2, and Henry V) by William Shakespeare

    E-Artnow

    Shakespeare's dramatizations of the British Monarchy (in this case, fictionally chronicling the reigns of the three rulers prior to the War of the Roses) are not necessarily the best known of his plays. But these 4 have a similar feel to The Crown, so they are a perfect fit for this list. If sitting down to read a script is not your cup of tea, you can always watch the miniseries, The Hollow Crown, with Ben Whishaw, Jeremy Irons, and Tom Hiddleston, which I think is one of the best Shakespeare adaptations ever.

    5. Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All by M. T. Anderson, Candace Fleming, Lisa Ann Sandell, Jennifer Donnelly, Linda Sue Park, Deborah Hopkinson, and Stephanie Hemphill

    Schwartz & Wade Books

    Seven authors bring to life the stories of Catherine of Aragon, Anne Boleyn, Jane Seymour, Anna of Cleves, Catherine Howard, Catherine Parr, and the husband they all had in common. Each author tells a different figures story (M. T. Anderson takes Henry, Linda Sue Park takes Howard, and more!). If you love The Crown and also Six the Musical, this is a great pick for you.

    6. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

    Harperteen

    After Henry VIII's death, Edward, his son with Jane Seymour, took the throne, only to die soon after, leaving the throne to his cousin Jane Grey who would become infamous as the nine-day queen. Both Edward and Jane, along with Jane's husband, were teens, and this version of their story ends a little happier. Each of the three characters has a point of view, there's also a magical element to it (Jane's intended spends his days as a horse...), and it's a joy to read.

    If you're looking for some fantasy that shows the dark side of royalty and power...

    7. Cinderella is Dead by Kalynn Bayron

    Bloomsbury

    Two centuries ago, Cinderella found her prince. Now, teen girls have to attend the Annual Ball, where the kingdom's men select their wives. If a girl is not chosen, she's never heard from again. This is the world that Sophia lives in, though if she had a choice she'd just marry her childhood best friend, Erin. When Sophia's ball approaches, she flees instead to Cinderella's mausoleum. It's there she meets Constance, the last known descendant of Cinderella's family, and together they vow to bring down the king.

    8. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

    Speak

    This East Asian–inspired retelling of Snow White follows Xifeng, who the stars (and her aunt, a witch) say is destined to be the empress of Feng Lu. But to achieve such greatness, she must embrace the darkness within her — sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. The companion novel, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix, shows the aftermath from a different perspective, that of Jade, the Snow White equivalent.

    And if you need a break from the period drama and want a book with romantic pining or Princess Diaries feels...

    9. Her Royal Highness by Rachel Hawkins

    Penguin

    After a betrayal from her best friend/sort-of-girlfriend, Millie applies for scholarship to boarding schools as far away as she can get...and she's accepted to one in the highlands of Scotland. When she gets there, she's thrilled about the beautiful country and great school, and less thrilled about her high-key roommate, Flora, who happens to be an actual princess. Though the two butt heads at first, soon feelings begin to develop between them...

    10. How to Catch a Queen by Alyssa Cole

    Avon

    Shanti's dream of becoming a queen comes true when she marries King Sanyu or Njaza, who has only taken a wife because it is expected of him. Shanti is seen as an outsider by their subjects, and though she has great ideas for the country, no one will listen to her. When turmoil erupts, Shanti runs, and Sanyu must figure out how to both lead and catch his queen. This is the first book of the spinoff series to Reluctant Royals, so you can read all three of those novels (and two novellas) either before or after reading this one.

    11. Tokyo Ever After by Emiko Jean

    Flatiron Books

    This book might not be out until the first half of 2021, but it's so good we had to include it here. Izumi was raised by a single mom in a mostly white northern California town. When she finds a clue to her father's identity (and discovers he's the Crown Prince of Japan), she ends up on a whirlwind trip to her father's home where she'll face new family, press scrutiny, and tradition and customs she has to learn really quickly.

    And for a book written by a cast member...

    12. Shiverton Hall by Emerald Fennell

    Bloomsbury

    Listen, this really doesn't have anything to do with royalty, but Emerald Fennell (who plays Camilla on the show!) has a spooky duology that seems like a great way to spend a weekend. Arthur has just been accepted into the (incredibly spooky school) Shiverton Hall, where he meets a few new friends (George, Penny, and Jake), and some not-so-friendly faces. Plus, the headmistress seems to have it out for him.

    Want great book recommendations in your inbox every week? Sign up for the BuzzFeed Books newsletter!

    Newsletter signup form