“Slates For Sarah” Is Hollywood’s Heartwarming Response To Crew Member’s Fatal On-Set Accident

Sarah Jones was working on a film set last Thursday when she was struck and killed by a train. Her family and friends created Slates for Sarah to honor her life, and it’s truly awesome.

1. This is Sarah Jones. She was a 27-year-old camera assistant who worked on major film and television sets, including The Vampire Diaries.

Sarah Jones / Via Facebook: events

Her obituary says, “From the heights of the mountains she hiked, to the depths of the oceans she dove (and never without a camera to record her experiences), the gift of her presence was felt far and wide.”

ID: 2511027

2. Sarah was working as a second camera assistant on the new Greg Allman biopic, Midnight Rider, when she was struck and killed by a train.

ID: 2510725
ID: 2510723

3. Her friends and family made a Facebook page, Slates for Sarah, where film colleagues can post film slates dedicated to Sarah.

Jessica Lopez / Via Facebook: Steadijess
ID: 2510537

4. So far, the page has 9,400 likes and has received slates from numerous major TV shows.

Curtis Bonds Baker / Via Facebook: curtisbbaker
ID: 2510650

5. The Vampire Diaries

Marc Casey / Via Facebook: marc.casey.75
ID: 2510658

6. The Mindy Project

Jeff Saldin / Via Facebook: jeff.saldin
ID: 2510592

7. Glee

Penny Sprague/ Facebook: penny.sprague

Penny Sprague / Facebook: penny.sprague

ID: 2510663

8. Parks and Recreation

Abby Linne / Via Facebook: abby.linne
ID: 2511410

9. Castle

Tim Roe / Via Facebook: tim.roe.33
ID: 2510517

10. Black Sails

Anton Rollino / Via Facebook: anton.rollino
ID: 2510522

11. Hawaii Five-O

Harry Bring / Via Facebook: harry.bring
ID: 2510531

12. Brooklyn Nine-Nine

Cheli Clayton / Via Facebook: cheli.clayton
ID: 2510654

13. Criminal Minds

Harry Bring / Via Facebook: harry.bring
ID: 2510651

14. Grimm

Rizal Sambo / Via Facebook: RizalSambo
ID: 2510544

15. Arrow

Slates for Sarah / Via Facebook: slatesforsarah
ID: 2510534

16. Anger Management

Richard Sanchez / Via Facebook: RJSanchez81
ID: 2510532

17. Halt and Catch Fire

Josh Gilbert / Via Facebook: josh.gilbert.3956
ID: 2510546

18. Revenge

Chad B. Daring / Via Facebook: chad.b.daring
ID: 2510609

19. Elementary

Kyle Blackman / Via Facebook: kyle.blackman.73
ID: 2510595

20. Togetherness

Tyler Romary / Via Facebook: tyler.romary
ID: 2510573

21. Mistresses

Blake Collins / Via Facebook: BLAKESNAKEMOAN
ID: 2510601

22. Devious Maids

Freddy Chancellor / Via Facebook: freddychancellor
ID: 2510605

23. Justified

Robert Sharman / Via Facebook: robert.sharman.2572
ID: 2510618

24. The Crazy Ones

Michael Mesirow / Via Facebook: michael.mesirow
ID: 2510624

25. Scandal

Heather Kehayas / Via Facebook: heather.kehayas
ID: 2510629

26. NCIS

Jacqueline Nivens / Via Facebook: jacqueline.nivens
ID: 2510639

27. Person of Interest

John Oliveri / Via Facebook: john.oliveri.9
ID: 2510640

28. Rake

Dale White / Via Facebook: dale818
ID: 2510641

29. Rectify

Joseph Thomas / Via Facebook: joseph.f.thomas
ID: 2510646

30. Chicago PD

Chris Wittenborn / Via Facebook: chriswittenborn
ID: 2510648

31. Sarah’s friends are also rallying to get Sarah included in the “In Memoriam” section of the Academy Awards this Sunday.

David WInston / Via Facebook: david.winston.37
ID: 2510599

32. To see and send more, check out Slates for Sarah.

ID: 2510832

Check out more articles on BuzzFeed.com!

  Your Reaction?


    Hot Buzz

    17 Mind-Blowingly Delicious Noodles To Try In NYC


    31 Reasons Potatoes Are The Best Thing At Thanksgiving


    Now Buzzing