Skip To Content

    These Are The 7 Most Important K-Pop Headlines Of The Week

    Yes, IU, I am very happy now. ๐Ÿ˜Š

    1. EXO's Suho, Pentagon's Jinho, BTOB's Yook Sungjae and Hyunsik, and Block B's U-Kwon will all enlist this month.

    SM Entertainment / Stone Music Entertainment, United CUBE (CUBE Entertainment Official YouTube Channel) / Via, BTOB ๋น„ํˆฌ๋น„ (Official YouTube Channel) / Via, BTOB ๋น„ํˆฌ๋น„ (Official YouTube Channel) / Via

    Okay, let's get the sad news out of the way first!

    * EXO's leader Suho will be enlisting in the military on May 14. He will two other members of EXO โ€” D.O and Xiumin โ€” who are also currently conducting their mandatory military service. He wrote a letter to fans sharing his enlistment date and that he hoped fans would think of him often, continue to love him, and "always be healthy" on the group's fan community on Lysn.

    * Block B's U-Kwon will also be enlisting on May 18. According to Soompi, KQ Entertainment shared: "following his basic training, [U-Kwon] plans to fulfill his service as an active-duty soldier.โ€

    * Pentagon's Jinho has also confirmed he will enlist on May 11. The group, which is currently participating in the survival reality program Road to Kingdom, will continue on as seven members. Cube Entertainment stated: โ€œJinho will be enlisting as an active-duty soldier on May 11. Due to Jinhoโ€™s personal wish to enlist quietly, we will not be announcing the time and location of his enlistment.โ€

    * BTOB's Sungjae and Hyunsik will also both enlist on May 11. On May 3, Sungjae shared a letter to fans on Instagram confirming his enlistment date (you can read the translated version on Soompi here!). On May 6, Cube Entertainment revealed that fellow BTOB member Hyunsik will also enlist on the same day!

    Take care and return safely, Suho, Jinho, Sungjae, Hyunsik, and U-Kwon! ๐ŸŒŸ

    2. IU & BTS's Suga released their collaboration "Eight" this week!

    View this video on YouTube

    1theK (์›๋”์ผ€์ด) / Via

    IU's latest single, "Eight," was released on May 6! The song, which features production and rapping by BTS's Suga, has become a certified all-kill in Korea since its release and centers on IU's experiences as a 28-year-old who feels wistful for the simple, joyous days in life.

    This isn't the first song IU has written that chronicles her viewpoints, emotions, and the world's atmosphere at certain ages โ€” she also released "Twenty-three" and "Palette" when she was 25!

    This week also saw the release of Stray Kids member Han's "Close," ASTRO's "Knock," Girls' Generation member Taeyeon's "Happy," EXO's Baekhyun and BOL4's "LEO," and Seventeen member The8's "Falling Down." Be sure to check those out too! ๐ŸŒŸ

    3. Wonho signs to Maverick Management for stateside promotions!


    On May 7, Korean solo artist and producer Wonho revealed that he has been signed with Maverick Management for stateside promotions.

    The news follows the April 10 announcement that the former Monsta X member had signed on with Highline Entertainment as a solo artist. Now, he joins a prestigious roster at Maverick Management that includes Aerosmith, Doja Cat, Britney Spears, Madonna, and The Weeknd.

    Congratulations, Wonho! We can't wait to see where you go next! ๐ŸŒŸ

    4. Dreamcatcher, IN2IT, and AleXa release UNESCO coronavirus song "Be The Future."

    View this video on YouTube

    Millenasia / Via

    "Be The Future" is a song by Millenasia Project, a group comprising of K-Pop artists Dreamcatcher, IN2IT, and AleXa. The song โ€” created in partnership with the Varkey Foundation which is part of UNESCO's Global Education Coalition โ€” and relays important safety coronavirus safety tips for listeners around the world.

    In between important tips like washing your hands, wearing a face mask, and maintaining social distancing, "Be The Future" also shares uplifting messages to listeners to stay strong, remember to study, and affirms that we're all in this together. It also encourages listeners to "stay apart, do your part, let's all be safe and all together let's save more lives."

    Listen to Millenasia Project, y'all! If you need me, I'll be staying indoors and learning the adorable choreography to this song!

    5. BTS, Barack and Michelle Obama, Malala Yousafzai, Lady Gaga, and more will speak at YouTube's virtual graduation ceremony Dear Class of 2020!

    #DearClassof2020, we know how hard youโ€™ve worked to make it to graduation so we want to celebrate you. Join us and a few friends in a Graduate #WithMe livestream event. From commencement speeches to musical performances, this oneโ€™s for you! June 6,

    @YouTube / Via Twitter: @YouTube

    The virtual commencement celebration created by YouTube promises to bring together "inspirational leaders, celebrities, and YouTube creators to celebrate graduates, their families, and their communities."

    With musical performances, special appearances, and speakers like BTS, Lady Gaga, and Barack and Michelle Obama, it's going to be a truly unforgettable graduation!

    You can watch the entire ceremony here beginning on June 6 at 3 p.m. EST! Congratulations, class of 2020!

    6. Changmo, alongside Burna Boy, was featured on a new remix of Stormzy's single "Own It."

    View this video on YouTube

    Warner Music Korea / Via

    Changmo? On a Stormzy song? Yes, you read that right! ๐ŸŽ‰The South Korean rapper is featured on Stormzy's newest remix of his iconic single, "Own It," which was released on May 6.

    I feel like Changmo is the perfect addition to the song's star-studded lineup too, which includes Burna Boy and background vocals by Ed Sheeran. Changmo's rapping is very suave and flows effortlessly, and his lyrics fit perfectly in with the rest of the song's lyrics which center on an intense, "lust at first sight" attraction with someone.

    I could honestly listen to this song all day, and can't wait until the day Changmo, Stormzy, and Burna Boy can all meet up and perform "Own It" live together! โœจ

    7. BTS, Blackpink, EXO's Chanyeol & Baekhyun, Monsta X, and more confirm new music is on the way!

    Big Hit Entertainment

    * BTS will release their new Japanese album, Map of the Soul: 7 The Journey, on July 15. It will feature Japanese versions of singles like "Boy With Luv" and "On," alongside four new songs: "INTRO: Calling," "Stay Gold," "OUTRO: The Journey," and "Your Eyes Tell" which was composed in part by Jungkook!

    * According to Soompi, YG Entertainment has confirmed that Blackpink will make their comeback in June! There are more tunes on the way even sooner, however, because Lady Gaga announced this week that her new album Chromatica, which features her collaboration with Blackpink "Sour Candy," will be released on May 29. Time to get excited, Blinks!

    * On his birthday this week, EXO's Baekhyun shared that his second mini-album, Delight, will be released on May 25! Meanwhile, EXO's Chanyeol will collaborate with EDM DJ Raiden on a single called "Yours," which will be released on May 12! The song also features Lee Hi and Changmo, so you know it's going to be amazing!

    * BVNDIT confirmed their second mini-album, Carnival, will be released on May 13!

    * Monsta X announced online that the release of their upcoming album, Fantasia X, has been delayed from May 11 to May 26 due to the group's leader Shownu sustaining a back injury. Get well soon, Shownu!

    * Cosmic Girls announced that they will hold their next comeback in June!

    That's it for this week! Have a lovely weekend and make sure to catch up on last week's news if you missed it! โœจ

    YG Entertainment