Skip To Content

    These Are The 7 Most Important K-Pop Headlines Of The Week

    It was collaboration heaven this week!

    1. IU and Suga have collaborated on her new single!

    Chung Sung-jun / Getty Images, Dia Dipasupil / Getty Images

    IU's digital single "Eight," which features Suga, will be released on May 6. Suga also participated in the production of the song.

    According to a statement from IU's entertainment company, EDAM Entertainment, the two artists bonded over their shared age: "As musicians of the same age, the two singers were able to relate to one another and use that as a foundation for exchanging opinions. They created their own unique synergy, which is reflected in their song.”

    I can't wait to hear two of South Korea's most adored artists come together on this song! I can already tell it's going to be incredible. ✨

    Also, in other exciting BTS-related news, the group announced their new docuseries Break The Silence, which will air on Weverse beginning on May 12. You can watch the trailer for it here.

    2. Oh My Girl made everyone dance ~nonstop~ this week!

    View this video on YouTube


    Oh My Girl's seventh mini-album, Nonstop, was released on April 27 and I've had its title track, also titled "Nonstop," on blast ever since!

    The song is an upbeat anthem that makes me very excited for summer, and its unique music video experiments with multiple artistic stylings that see Oh My Girl living in a pastel-colored vaporwave dreamscape, an old western film, and later on as adorable board game figures.

    Earlier this week, Oh My Girl were in the middle of their album showcase when they discovered they were #1 on the Korean music platform Melon and their reactions were absolutely adorable. Stan Oh My Girl, you guys!

    This week also saw the release of NCT Dream's "Ridin," GWSN's "Bazooka," and Chungha's single "Stay Tonight," so be sure to check those out too! 🌟

    3. Twice announced their next comeback during the livestream for their docuseries Seize The Light!

    JYP Entertainment

    The comeback is titled "MORE&MORE" and will be released on June 1st at 6 p.m. KST (5 a.m. EST).

    You can find out more about Twice's new show, Seize The Light, their goals for 2020, and the most difficult scenes to film in our livestream recap here. The first episode is available to stream now on YouTube. ✨

    4. EXO's Chen and his wife welcomed their first child!

    weareone.exo / Via

    On April 29, SM Entertainment confirmed that EXO's Chen and his wife had welcomed their first child β€” a baby girl! ✨

    Instantaneously, the hashtags #WelcomeEXOPrincess and #μ’…λŒ€μ•Ό_μΆ•ν•˜ν•΄ ("Congratulations Jongdae," Chen's real name) trended on Twitter as fans shared their well wishes with the new family.

    I'm over the moon for Chen and his family and wish them nothing but happiness! ❀️

    5. CLC, Kang Daniel, Stephanie Poetri, and more will perform at 88rising's online festival Asia Rising Forever.

    🌐ASIA RISING π‘“π‘œπ‘Ÿπ‘’π‘£π‘’π‘Ÿ 🌐 Announcing... an online festival celebrating the most exciting Asian talent from around the world. Streaming live on Twitter | May 6th 9PM ET More announcements & surprises soon! #88rising #AsiaRising #AsiaRisingForever #StayHomeWith88rising

    Hosted by LA rapper Dumbfoundead, 88Rising's livestreamed festival will take place on May 6 at 9 p.m. EST and feature performances from popular artists like Kang Daniel, Rich Brian, CLC, Stephanie Poetri, and Hyukoh.

    In a press release, 88Rising shared that the broadcast would be "a celebration of Asian music and togetherness."

    The festival can be livestreamed on 88Rising's Twitter and YouTube pages, as well as on SiriusXM. All donations received during the broadcast will benefit Asian Americans Advancing Justice, a civil rights organization that is dedicating to advocating on behalf of the Asian Americans, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander communities.

    6. SuperM's Beyond the Future livestream concert drew in over 75,000 viewers over the weekend.

    SM Entertainment

    The first-ever concert as part of the Beyond LIVE series wowed over 75,000 paid viewers from 109 different countries with its unique mix of performances and AR technology that took SuperM's electrifying concert to the next level.

    In between performances of popular hits like "Jopping" and "Baby Don't Stop," the group also held an interactive Q&A and answered questions from fans who were watching the livestream. SuperM also unveiled a new single, "Tiger Inside," and had CG tigers prowling on the stage during their performance. It was truly an experience!

    If you missed SuperM's Beyond The Future concert, it is still available for purchase on VLive. This weekend, Chinese boy group WayV will be the second group to hold their own Beyond LIVE concert on May 3 at 3 p.m. KST (2 a.m. EST), so make sure to tune in!

    7. Tomorrow X Together, NCT 127, Day6, and more confirm new music!

    View this video on YouTube

    Big Hit Labels / Via

    * Tomorrow X Together's second album, The Dream Chapter: ETERNITY, will be released on May 18! The album will conclude the group's dream chapter series which began last year. Tomorrow X Together released a concept trailer for their new album this week too, which can be watched above!

    * NCT 127's repackaged second album, NCT #127 Neo Zone: The Final Round, will be released May 19. The album will contain four new songs, including "Nonstop," "Make Your Day," intro "Prelude," and the album's title track "Punch."

    * EXO's Baekhyun will collaborate with indie pop artist BOL4 on her pre-release single "Butterfly and Cat," which will be released on May 7.

    * Day6 announced their repackaged album, The Book of Us: The Demon, will be released on May 12 with the title track "Zombie." Looks like spooky season is here, My Days!

    That's it for this week! Have a lovely weekend and make sure to catch up on last week's news if you missed it! ✨

    SM Entertainment