Skip To Content

    BritBox Has Announced Its First Ever Original Drama "The Beast Must Die" And It Looks Incredible

    I love me a good revenge thriller!

    UK streaming platform BritBox has just dropped a trailer for its first ever scripted original drama, The Beast Must Die.

    BritBox / Via youtube.com

    The five-part revenge thriller will be available on the streamer from 27th May, with a further three episodes launching weekly on Thursdays.

    Set and filmed on the Isle of Wight off the south coast of England, The Beast Must Die is an electric revenge thriller that follows a grieving mother – played by Cush Jumbo – whose six-year-old son is tragically killed in a hit and run.

    BritBox / Via youtube.com

    Intent on avenging his death, she will go to any lengths to find the man she believes killed her son. Together with the "troubled yet brilliant" Detective Strangeways, the pair unpick a web of tragedy and steer an unrelenting course for justice.

    The series is based on a 1938 novel by Nicholas Blake (pen name of Cecil Day-Lewis, father of Daniel) and is produced by New Regency Television and Ridley Scott’s Scott Free Films.

    As well as Cush – who you'll recognise from The Good Wife – the series also features The Serpent's Billy Howle, and star of Chernobyl, The Crown, and Mad Men, Jared Harris, in leading roles, according to the new trailer.

    CBS, HBO/Sky Atlantic, BBC

    Other cast members include Geraldine James (Back to Life, Anne with an E, Utopia); Nathaniel Parker (The Inspector Lynley Mysteries, The Outcast, Vanity Fair); Maeve Dermody (Carnival Row, Marcella, The Frankenstein Chronicles); Mia Tomlinson (The Lost Pirate Kingdom); and newcomer Barney Sayburn.

    Fans of Broadchurch, Strike, and The Killing will likely be intrigued by this new edge-of-your-seat thriller, which is BritBox's first ever original scripted drama to go into production.

    BritBox / Via youtube.com

    Launched back in 2019, BritBox is a digital video subscription service providing an unrivalled collection of British boxsets from the likes of ITV, BBC, Channel 4, Channel 5, Film4 and Comedy Central UK, as well as original series, on demand, all in one place.

    The Beast Must Die is the first BritBox original drama to go into production, but other upcoming projects include Damian Lewis and Dominic West's series A Spy Among Friends, Irvine Welsh’s adaptation of Crime, and Anthony Horowitz’s adaptation of his novel Magpie Murders.

    The Beast Must Die premieres 27th May on BritBox and will air on AMC in the US at a later date. You can watch the trailer below:

    View this video on YouTube

    youtube.com

    BuzzFeed Daily

    Keep up with the latest daily buzz with the BuzzFeed Daily newsletter!

    Newsletter signup form