Skip To Content

    Here's Who Won At Last Night's BAFTAs – The Most Inclusive Ceremony Since The Awards Began

    Chloé Zhao, Daniel Kaluuya, and Ang Lee all walked away with awards!

    The 74th British Academy Film Awards concluded last night after a two day ceremony held at the Royal Albert Hall in which nominees and winners appeared virtually.

    The ceremony was delayed by two months due to the pandemic, and comes just two weeks before the Oscars effectively rounds off the awards season on 26th April.

    One notable thing about the 2021 awards was its inclusivity, with many nominees of colour and an unprecedented four women up for the Best Director award!

    This year's BAFTAs saw a record-breaking amount of Black and minority ethnic winners, and it's second ever female Best Director winner! Here are some of the highlights from the night:

    Chloé Zhao won Best Director for Nomadland, which also won Best Film and earned Frances McDormand a Leading Actress win.

    Daniel Kaluuya won Best Supporting Actor for his work on Judas and the Black Messiah, and Yuh-Jung Youn won Best Supporting Actress for Minari.

    Fresh off the success of her starring role in indie movie, Rocks, Bukky Bakray was voted winner of the EE Rising Star Award by the public.

    Writer-Director Remi Weekes won the Outstanding Debut award by a British writer, director, or producer for his film His House.

    Emerald Fennell's Promising Young Woman won both Outstanding British Film and Best Original Screenplay.

    Pixar's latest feature film Soul won two awards for Best Animated Film and Best Original Score.

    The award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema went to Kidulthood and Bulletproof creator, Noel Clarke, while the Bafta Fellowship went to prolific director Ang Lee, known for such movies as Brokeback Mountain; Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon; and Sense and Sensibility.

    A full list of the winners from the night can be found here. Here's hoping that this can become the new standard in movie industry award ceremonies!