Skip To Content

    It's Worth Remembering The Politicians Who Boycotted The Stolen Generations Apology

    Not sorry.

    On February 13, 2008, prime minister Kevin Rudd delivered an apology to the Stolen Generations.

    Facebook: video.php

    It was a historic day, but it's worth remembering there were some MPs who staged a boycott of the event.

    They include...

    Liberal MP Sophie Mirabella.

    Penny Bradfield / AAPIMAGE

    Liberal MP Don Randall.

    Alan Porritt / AAPIMAGE

    Liberal MP Dennis Jensen.

    Alan Porritt / AAPIMAGE

    Liberal MP Alby Schultz.

    Alan Porritt / AAPIMAGE

    Liberal MP Wilson Tuckey.

    Alan Porritt / AAPIMAGE

    Liberal MP Peter Dutton.

    Alan Porritt / AAPIMAGE

    The immigration minister Peter Dutton defended his boycott on ABC's Q&A in 2010.

    "I regarded it as something which was not going to deliver tangible outcomes to kids who are being raped and tortured in communities in the 21st century," Dutton said.

    "Now, if I thought for a moment that it was going to deliver positive outcomes to those kids, to their families, to those communities, then I would support it in a heartbeat."


    Prime minister Kevin Rudd apologised on February 13, 2008. An earlier version of this story misstated the date.