Skip To Content

    Janelle Monáe Calls Out Police Brutality With New Song

    "Hell You Talmbout" is a bop with a chilling message.

    On August 14, Janelle Monáe and her entire Wondaland Records family released the posse track "Hell You Talmbout."

    Putting the hashtags #SayHerName and #SayHisName in motion, the song chants the names of 18 victims of police brutality – Walter Scott, Jerame Reid, Phillip White, Eric Garner, Trayvon Martin, Sean Bell, Freddie Gray, Aiyana Jones, Sandra Bland, Kimani Gray, John Crawford, Michael Brown, Miriam Carey, Sharonda Singleton, Emmett Till, Tommy Yancy, Jordan Baker, and Amadou Diallo – over a driving drum beat.

    Janelle herself made a statement about the song on Instagram, saying that they "recorded it to challenge the indifference, disregard, and negligence of all who remain quiet about this issue."

    Yesterday, the entire Wondaland Records roster marched with #BlackLivesMatter protesters in Philadelphia and performed the song, which was also chanted throughout the march.

    The stop in Philly was the first date for Wondaland’s “The Eephus Tour."

    View this video on YouTube

    The song was included in the set. The tour continues in New York, Los Angeles, Atlanta and other cities throughout the month.

    H/T Philadelphia Sun Times