Skip To Content

    Kai Collabs With Gucci On New Capsule Collection, And 5 Other K-Pop Headlines You Need To Know

    BRB, buying all of Kai and Gucci's capsule collection! 🧸

    1. EXO's Kai unveiled his capsule collection with Gucci this week!

    ‘Global ambassador’ KAI, the hero of Gucci's 100th anniversary capsule collection! The first Korean artist to come out with a Gucci collection under his name! Alessandro Michele “Inspired by KAI’s favorite teddy bear” #카이 #KAI #엑소 #EXO #weareoneEXO #구찌 #GUCCI

    @weareoneEXO / Twitter / Via Twitter: @weareoneEXO

    First featured in this month's issue of Esquire Korea, the collection was designed by Gucci's creative director Alessandro Michele and was inspired by Kai and his known love of teddy bears. In fact, he likes them so much that they're often reflected in his fashion choices, so this collection was a true match made in heaven!

    With this collaboration, Kai becomes the first Korean artist to collaborate with Gucci and have a line of clothes and accessories named after him. He has been a global ambassador for the brand since 2019.

    To celebrate the release, Gucci also worked alongside Seoul-based artist IM Jibin to create two larger-than-life teddy bear balloons that have since popped up all over Seoul too. Congratulations on the collection, Kai! It is un-bear-ably cute!

    2. And BTS wowed the world with their performances on MTV Unplugged!

    View this video on YouTube

    MTV UK / Via

    Global superstars BTS surpassed yet another milestone as they became the first Korean group to perform on the legendary music program MTV Unplugged on Feb. 23.

    The group performed a five song set on the program that was both visually and musically stunning. Fans were delighted as the group performed four songs from their latest #1 album BE — "Telepathy," "Blue & Grey," "Dynamite," and the album's title track "Life Goes On" — and were even more enthralled when they unveiled a beautiful rendition of Coldplay's "Fix You."

    Not only did BTS's performance bring comfort to their fans around the world, but it also affirmed to new listeners that the group's talent and charm is undeniable. If you somehow weren't a fan of BTS prior to watching MTV Unplugged (which, how!?), the group's performances will surely steal your heart.

    3. ASTRO announced their first online fan-meeting.

    [#아스트로] 2021 ASTRO AROHA Festival [Be Mine] Main Poster #ASTRO #AAF #Be_Mine

    @fantagiomusic_ / Twitter / Via Twitter: @fantagiomusic_

    Time to get excited, AROHA! To celebrate the group's fifth anniversary on Feb. 23, ASTRO announced that they'll be holding their first online fan meeting. Titled ASTRO AROHA Festival [Be Mine], the event will be held on Mar. 28 at 5 p.m. KST (3 a.m. EST).

    The festival will be streamed digitally on Bbangya TV, so fans from all over the world can attend. According to Star News, the event will also feature never-before-seen performances from the group.

    You can purchase a ticket to the event here. ⭐

    4. While KCON:TACT rounded out its lineup with HyunA, SF9, ATEEZ, and more.

    View this video on YouTube

    KCON Official / YouTube / Via

    On Feb. 25, virtual K-Pop festival KCON:TACT completed its lineup with its third collection of incredible artists and I'm obsessed!

    AB6IX, ATEEZ, HyunA, Kang Daniel, Lee Jin Hyuk, Loona, Mamamoo, P1Harmony, SF9, Sunmi, and TOO will join KCON:TACT's star-studded lineup which already includes Enhypen, Everglow, Ha Sung Woon, iKON, Itzy, Oh My Girl, The Boyz, Woodz, A.C.E, BTOB, Dreamcatcher, Jessi, Jo1, Stray Kids and Tomorrow X Together. With 26 total artists participating in the week-long concert, there is truly something for everyone!

    KCON:TACT will be held from Mar. 20-28. You can purchase a membership to the event — which includes access to the concerts as well as meet and greets and programs — on both the KCON and Mnet K-Pop YouTube channels.

    5. Wonho ~won~ everyone over with his new single "Lose!"

    View this video on YouTube

    Wonho / Twitter / Via

    Wonho's back! The solo artist released his second mini-album, LOVE SYNONYM #2: RIGHT FOR US, on Feb. 26 and it's everything you could want and more.

    The album itself is a continuation of the 27-year-olds Love Synonym series which began in 2020. Its title track, "Lose," was written and composed by Wonho. Set to a bouncing backbeat, the song's wistful lyrics tell the story of knowing that you're playing a losing game in love, but being unable to close that door just yet. That inner turmoil is perfectly expressed in the song's music video, which features Wonho free-falling through the sky, trying to hold onto a woman who disappears within his grasp, and struggling to break through chains thickly wrapped around his body.

    Now, if you need us, we nee-d to watch this music video over again!

    This week also saw the release of SHINee's "Don't Call Me," Sunmi's "Tail," N.Flying J.Don's "Clicker," WEi's "All Or Nothing," and ONF's "Beautiful Beautiful," so be sure to check those out too!

    6. And Pentagon, WayV, and Mirae announce new music is on the way!

    #펜타곤 11th Mini Album [LOVE or TAKE]   2021.03.15. 18:00 (KST)   #PENTAGON #Comeback #LOVE_or_TAKE

    @Cube_PTG / Twitter / Via Twitter: @CUBE_PTG

    - Pentagon will release their eleventh mini-album, titled Love or Take, on Mar. 15.

    - WayV will released their third mini-album, Kick Back, on Mar. 10.

    - Solo artist Woodz will release his single album, Set, on Mar. 15.

    - Upcoming group Mirae will debut with their first mini-album on Mar. 17.

    - Weeekly will release their third mini-album [We Play] on Mar. 17.

    That's it for this week! Have a lovely weekend and be sure to catch up on last week's news if you missed it! ✨