Skip To Content
  • Women's World Cup Presented by Visa badge

10 Losses From 28 Years Of The Women's World Cup That Will Still Inspire You

Even the greatest losses can be a big inspiration.

The Women's World Cup is almost over, and on Sunday, July 7, the US team will face the Netherlands to see who takes home the gold.

Getty Images Sports, 2

As we wait to find out 2019's victor, we wanted to take some time to celebrate the teams that lost because they gave it their all — and there is plenty of inspiration to be found in their hustle!

1. 2019: US beat England, 2–1

Elsa / Getty Images

On July 2, 2019, England went head-to-head with the US in the semifinal match. This was only England's second time making it to the semifinals, so the stakes were high and the tenacious game play showed they came prepared. England gave it their all, but six minutes into a nine-minute stoppage time, US goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher saved a penalty kick, winning the game and securing the US's spot in the finals.

2. 2015: Australia beat Brazil, 1–0

Franck Fife / AFP / Getty Images

On June 21, 2015, Australia made history when they won their first-ever knockout game victory in the FIFA Women's World Cup™. Going into the match Australia was ranked 10th and Brazil 7th. Brazil had yet to concede a game in the tournament and fought to the finish but ultimately lost after after Kyah Simon scored in the last 10 minutes.

3. 2015: England beat Germany, 1–0

Todd Korol / Getty Images

On July 4, 2015, England broke a 31-year losing streak against Germany when Fara Williams scored on a penalty kick in extra time. This was no easy victory though, as Germany held England into 120 minutes of game play before the penalty kick made its way past Germany's Nadine Angerer.

4. 2011: Japan beat US, 3–1

Patrik Stollarz / AFP / Getty Images

On July 17, 2011, Japan and US clocked 120 minutes of play time before Japan won the FIFA Women's World Cup™ title on a penalty kick. Despite the loss, the US managed to control the ball 47% of the time and took 27 shots on goal compared to Japan's 14. Newcomer Megan Rapinoe created a name for herself when she made a 50-yard pass that was driven into the goal by Alex Morgan.

5. 2007: Germany beat Brazil, 2–0

Paul Gilham / Getty Images

On Sept. 30, 2007, Germany defended their FIFA Women's World Cup™ crown after winning in 2003, beating Brazil 2–0. Despite the loss, Brazil proved to be a worthy opponent. Newcomer Marta Vieira da Silva's attacking skills showed promise for the South American team and awarded her an adidas Golden Shoe and adidas Golden Ball award. Fellow teammate Cristiane Rozeira also took home an adidas Golden Ball award.

6. 2003: Germany beat Sweden, 2–1

Ben Radford / Getty Images Sport

Oct. 12, 2003, saw Germany win their first FIFA Women's World Cup™ title after defeating Sweden 2–1. Swedish goalkeeper Caroline Jönsson was on fire and proved a worthy match for Germany's Nia Künzer. In the final eight minutes, a free kick from Renate Lingor into the box was headed in by Künzer, scoring her a golden goal and winning the title.

7. 1999: US beat China, 5–4

Hector Mata / AFP / Getty Images

On July 10, 1999, China faced the US, carrying an intimidating record of outscoring their opponents 19–2. Team US was undeterred and both teams fought tooth and nail, keeping the score at zero before going into 30 minutes of stoppage time. Both teams took their turns with penalty kicks, but the final goal came from the US's Brandi Chastain.

8. 1999: Brazil beat Norway, 5–4

John Mabanglo / AFP / Getty Images

On July 10, 1999, Brazil was matched with Norway to see who would take third place. In the previous FIFA Women's World Cup™, Norway took home the title, but that didn't stop Brazil from keeping pace. Brazil held Norway until the end, taking the game into overtime and winning on a penalty kick, closing the score out at 5–4.

9. 1995: Norway beat Germany, 2–0

Getty Images

On June 18, 1995, Norway and Germany battled to see who would win the second FIFA Women's World Cup™ title. Germany had previously proved to be a vicious competitor when they beat Brazil 6–1, but in the end Norway took home the title with a 2–0 win.

10. 1991: US beat Norway, 2–1

Tommy Cheng / AFP / Getty Images

At the inaugural FIFA Women's World Cup™ tournament on Nov. 20, 1991, Norway and the US were in fierce competition until the bitter end. In the final three minutes, Michelle Akers from the US team scored a goal, winning them their first FIFA Women's World Cup™ title. Norway still brought home the adidas Bronze Ball, Silver Boot, and Bronze Boot awards.