One thing not mentioned in this and many other articles about this incident is that, if the clock did run out while the German player was attacking (which it should have by about 1/5 of a second if the clock counted down properly when the German player began attacking), the Korean player HAD PRIORITY to advance to the next round, despite the tie in score. I don’t know what that means exactly, as I’m not familiar with fencing rules like most people here. But the fact is, if the game went on and ended the way it should have ended as the RULES DICTATED, the Korean player WOULD HAVE ADVANCED WITHOUT AN ADDITIONAL ROUND DESPITE THE TIE. So, the Korean player’s incredulity is understandable, and making her coach PAY FOR AN APPEAL really added insult to injury. ALSO, I object to some articles portraying the Korean player as “refusing” to leave the stage. As mentioned in this article, leaving the stage after the match ended and decisions were made meant accepting the original decision, which the Korean player had no intention of doing as her tears and her coach’s motion for appeal suggest.