Skip To Content

    Tomorrow X Together Talks About Their New Album, The Growth Of K-Pop, And Making Music For Gen Z

    "It's an honor and rare opportunity to receive so much love and support from so many people."

    Last week, K-pop icons Tomorrow X Together (also known as TXT) released their repackaged sophomore album, The Chaos Chapter: Fight or Escape.

    (Left to right) Soobin, Huening Kai, Beomgyu, Yeonjun and Taehyun on the red carpet
    Handout / Getty Images

    The album builds on their last installment of their "Chaos Chapter" series with new art and two new songs — a grungy rock title track "LO$ER=LO❤️ER," and a sweet pop ode to their fans (known as MOA), "Dubaddu Wari Wari (MOA Diary)."

    View this video on YouTube

    HYBE Entertainment / GE Productions / Via

    Recently, the South Korean band sat down to chat in a partnership interview with BuzzFeed and Facebook App about their latest release!

    TXT introducing themselves

    Both the Facebook App teams and BuzzFeed collaborated on questions, which the members — Yeonjun, Beomgyu, Taehyun, Huening Kai, and leader Soobin — selected from a pile.

    As certified MOA, we had a lot of questions to ask. Like, a lot.

    Taehyun commenting on the quantity of questions

    Terry simply did not realize how hard this drag was.

    So here's everything we learned from our chat with the five talented artists known as Tomorrow X Together:

    HYBE Entertainment / Via

    1. The group describes the lyrics of "LO$ER=LO❤️ER" as expressing "the feelings of a boy who may look like a 'loser' in the eyes of the world but wants to become a 'lover' to you and save each other."

    View this video on YouTube

    HYBE Entertainment / NMW Studios / Via

    2. When asked what song best describes their life right now, Taehyun and Yeonjun both picked "LO$ER=LO❤️ER." "The song is a great representation of Generation Z feels, so it's more relatable," eldest member Yeonjun explains. "It's a song perfect for this day and age."


    From their discography, Beomgyu chose "Anti-Romantic," while Hueningkai chose their youth anthem about COVID-19, "We Lost the Summer."

    3. Soobin chose "Our Summer" from their past work, but also told us that he's been listening to a new release by K-pop group ONF, "Popping." He gasps, "It's so good!" Beomgyu agrees. "We've listened to it four times together!"

    LIGHTS ON! Tomorrow on Daebak Weekly we'll be speaking with the electric members of @WM_ONOFF, talking about their newest summer album release, #POPPING 🐠 make sure to subscribe in bio or below:

    Huening Kai is a huge Bruno Mars fan and has been listening to a throwback, "Talking to the Moon." Taehyun says he's been listening to a lot of Childish Gambino.

    4. Soobin also says that because all the members are Gen Z (born between 1999 and 2002), it's easy for them to sing about what young people are going through, as it's authentic to their own lives.


    5. Since the concept of the album is "fight or escape," we also asked: "Since you have a song called 'Can’t We Just Leave the Monster Alive,' if there were a monster in front of you right now, would you fight or escape?" Beomgyu immediately answered, "I would escape, why would you fight?"

    Yeonjun: "You have to fight!"

    Heuning Kai: "Of course you have to escape!"

    Soobin: "You need to fight, everyone. You have to try!"

    Taehyun: "But the monster is six meters tall and weighs one ton."

    Beomgyu: "The ground shakes every time it walks."

    Heuning Kai: "Think of the monster as a dragon as big as the HYBE [the group's label] building. Are you going to fight it??"

    Taehyun: "Yeah, it rips people."

    6. Huening Kai thinks their growing fanbase has helped them work much harder and provided a great experience for them.

    HYBE Entertainment / Via

    7. Taehyun says the pressure doesn't affect them, despite their rising popularity, and everyone agreed.

    "On the contrary, it's an honor and rare opportunity to receive lots of love and support from so many people"

    8. "For now, our goal is to get back on the road. We say this all the time, we want to tour overseas and meet MOA," Huening Kai reflects.

    Asked if they can feel the realities of their success, Yeonjun says he is beginning to feel it because of the records they have set with their last album. Hueningkai says their last album was really their style, so the great results due to MOA’s support made them happy.

    "I'm so proud that K-pop is huge now," Yeonjun says. Taehyun adds, "Not only for K-pop, but any industry you work in — what can be happier than that?"

    9. "We want to repay all that love with good music and good performances," Beomgyu tells us.


    "Don't you think it's fun? Just doing music?" he asked his bandmates.

    This album contains @TXT_bighit’s first song dedicated especially to MOA; Soobin says some people may find it cheesy, but he figures that’s why MOA love them. Hueningkai adds he hopes MOA can feel their love through listening to the song and watching their performance.

    Twitter: @BuzzFeedDaebak

    10. And, of course, we wrapped it all up with a surprise:


    Which was extra on-brand, especially if you know how much the group loves desserts and baked goods of any kind.

    You can watch the full interview on Facebook App platforms, or click here to watch.