Skip To Content
  • Viral badge

This Tumblr User Pointed Out This Heartbreaking "Haunting Of Hill House" Detail And Now I'm Crying

As if I didn't cry over the Crain family enough...

🚨Warning: Spoilers ahead!🚨

In case you've been living under a rock, Netflix's new show The Haunting of Hill House has basically taken over the internet.

The series follows the Crain family — in the past and present — as they deal with the repercussions and terrifying events that happened while living in their old (haunted) home, Hill House.

While the show does have a series of creepy ghosts that haunt the Crains — I'm looking at you Bent-Neck Lady — the show is ultimately a story about grief, trauma, and loss.

So, like so many people I've become obsessed with the show and just want to keep uncovering new things about it.

I was scrolling through Tumblr the other day when user cagedbirdsong pointed out this incredible detail that completely BLEW MY MIND.

Tumblr / Via

In case you need a refresher, the five stages of grief are denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

So, Steve would be denial.

Shirley would be anger.

Theo would be bargaining.

Luke would be depression.

And finally, Nell would be acceptance.

And as if this detail couldn't get any more insane, Tumblr user shelbobaggins added this:

That's right, not only do the Crain siblings represent the five stages of grief, but they are born in the order you experience them — Steve, Shirley, Theo, Luke, and Nell.

Anyway, my mind is BLOWN and I'm going to go start another rewatch of this incredible show!

If you are thinking about suicide or just need to talk to someone, you can speak to someone by calling the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255) or by texting HOME to 741741, the Crisis Text Line. Suicide helplines outside the US can be found here.