Skip To Content

    35 Gorgeous Pictures Of Indonesia That Will Take Your Breath Away

    So beautiful it's unfair to the rest of the world.

    1. Let's get one thing out of the way: When it comes to gorgeous scenery, no country can rival Indonesia.

    Jeff Werner CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: jeffwerner

    This is in East Java.

    2. It is home to the most diverse and breathtaking landscapes. From Mount Bromo, a volcano in East Java...

    Getty Images/iStockphoto goikmitl

    3. To the idyllic beaches of Belitung...

    Ahmad Zakaria CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: ahmadzakaria

    4. And the Minangkabau Highlands' rice fields, in West Sumatra.

    Charles Roffey CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: charlesfred

    5. Seriously, Indonesia is so beautiful it actually hurts.

    Near Yogyakarta. – Marc-André Jung CC BY-NC / Via Flickr: maggi_homelinux_org

    6. It's hard to imagine that such a place can exist in real life.

    Trekking Rinjani CC BY / Via Flickr: trekkingrinjani

    This is Mount Rinjani, an active volcano on the island of Lombok.

    7. Take Lake Toba, in North Sumatra, for instance.

    Max Grabert CC BY-SA / Via Flickr: maxgrabert

    8. It's not even the most famous attraction in the country.

    Drriss & Marrionn CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: drriss

    9. And yet, it's still surreally beautiful.

    Marc Veraart CC BY / Via Flickr: marcveraart

    10. Indonesia has everything you could dream of.

    Luke Mackin CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: wildsumatra

    This is a sunrise in the Kerinci valley, in Sumatra.

    11. It has exciting cities.

    Luke Ma CC BY / Via Flickr: lukema

    Like Jakarta.

    12. Otherworldly valleys.

    Carmen Rodriguez CC BY / Via Flickr: carmenherbs

    This is at the foot of Mount Bromo.

    13. Beaches that will make you forget all of your troubles.

    Hansel and Regrettal CC BY-NC-ND / Via Flickr: sakharnair

    Like this beach on Lombok island.

    14. And unparalleled sunsets.

    Soelaiman Mohammad CC BY-NC-ND / Via Flickr: msoelaiman

    Kenjeran Sunrise

    15. Feeling a bit overwhelmed? It's ok. Let's take a break with this adorable baby monkey who lives in the Ubud Monkey Forest in Bali..

    Luca5 CC BY-NC-ND / Via Flickr: mrmighty

    16. Speaking of forests, Indonesia has some gorgeous ones. Obviously.

    Luke Mackin CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: wildsumatra

    17. It also has views that will ruin you for life.

    Fakhri Anindita / Via Flickr: fakhrianindita

    This is the view from Mount Rinjani, the second highest volcano in Indonesia.

    18. Whether it's from the air...

    Schristia CC BY-SA / Via Flickr: schristia

    The Gilis and Lombok Island.

    19. The sea...

    Caneles CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: 94446676@N00

    The tropical island of Kanawa.

    20. Or from the crater of an active volcano.

    Roberto Saltori CC BY-NC / Via Flickr: robysaltori

    Mount Rinjani, Lombok.

    21. Did I mention the waterfalls?

    Luke Mackin CC BY-NC-SA / Thinkstock

    Madakaripura waterfall.

    22. I mean, come on!

    Luke Mackin CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: wildsumatra

    Kerinci Seblat National Park, Sumatra.

    23. How can you compete with that?

    PTorrodellas CC BY-NC / Via Flickr: ptorrodellas

    Wayag island, Raja Ampat.

    24. Seriously now...

    Zac Turner CC BY-NC / Via Flickr: zacturner

    Mount Bromo.

    25. It's not even fair to the rest of the world.

    Wiley Brooks-Joiner CC BY-NC-ND / Via Flickr: wileyb-j

    Gili Trawangan, Lombok.

    26. This is a lot to take, I know. Let's take a break for a second.

    27. Indonesia is home to some stunning world-famous monuments. Like the Borobudur temple.

    Getty Images/iStockphoto Assawin

    28. The Tanah Lot temple, in Bali.

    Dhinoo G / Via Flickr: dhinoo

    29. And the Uluwatu temple, also in Bali.

    Getty Images/iStockphoto Pavel Mitrofanov

    30. Indonesia is also home to the Ijen volcano and its crater lake.

    dany13 CC BY / Via Flickr: dany13

    31. At night, a strange phenomenon happen there, and you can see electric blue flames.

    M Reza Faisal CC BY-NC-ND / Via Flickr: mrezafaisal

    It's because of the sulphuric gas.

    32. Just more proof that Indonesia is a truly magical place.

    Noel back in Zurich CC BY-NC-ND / Via Flickr: noelinthebahamas

    Sunset view towards Lombok.

    33. There is beauty everywhere.

    Tyler Ray CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: tylerray

    Komodo National Park.

    34. So much that it's hard to believe it's real.

    William Nicholas CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: will1972

    Mount Rinjani.

    35. But it is real, at least in Indonesia.

    Jorge Dalmau CC BY-NC / Via Flickr: jorgedalmau

    BuzzFeed Daily

    Keep up with the latest daily buzz with the BuzzFeed Daily newsletter!

    Newsletter signup form