Because each restaurant varies in their use of ingredients and recipes, these dishes are not guaranteed to be gluten-free wherever you go. But these are some of the best gluten-free options. When in doubt, always ask to see ingredients.
Made with: brown or white rice, meat, and tomato sauce.
2. Nicoise Salad
Made with: tomatoes, tuna, hard-boiled eggs, olives, anchovies, and a vinaigrette. Sometimes served on a bed of lettuce. As always, it's a good idea to ask the specific type of dressing being used.
Made with: rice cooked in broth to a creamy consistency. Beans and meat can sometimes be added in as well.
4. Corn Tortilla Dishes
Made with: corn instead of flour. Choosing corn tortillas instead of flour will open up a whole new world. Try out some chicken fajitas or beef tacos.
Made with: precooked corn flour. They can be served with basically whatever meat, cheese, or gluten-free filling or topping you want.
6. Pad Thai
Made with: stir-fried rice noodles cooked with eggs and sometimes meat such as shrimp or chicken. The dish is usually topped with peanuts and peanut sauce.
7. Sauerkraut and Sausage
Made with: pickled cabbage and sausage with onions and salt and pepper, or other seasoning.
Made with: cilantro, parsley, garlic, oil, and chiles. It's perfect with just about any meat or rice dish.
9. Lamb Kebab
Made with: lamb with occasional seasonings, so be sure to ask just in case. But with a side Greek salad, this is a meal worth getting excited about.
10. Quinoa Soup
Made with: quinoa and vegetables with a simple broth base.
Made with: rice topped with vegetables, eggs, meat, sesame oil and seeds, and chili sauce. Watch our for soy and other sauces that could potentially have gluten in them.
Made with: rice noodles, herbs, broth, and meat.
Made with: combination of potatoes mashed with one or several other vegetables, sometimes with bacon or sausage.
14. Teff Injera
Made with: teff flour, which is gluten-free. However, some places in the U.S. make these big, slightly sourdough-y flatbreads with wheat flour. So of course it's important to ask for ingredients if necessary.
15. Buckwheat Crepes
Made with: buckwheat flour! Buckwheat flour is gluten-free and these crepes can be topped with your favorite fresh fruits or savory things. Yum.
Made with: rice, seaweed, fish, and veggies. It depends on what kind of sushi you're eating, but absolutely avoid all tempura and anything with soy sauce. If you're unsure, it's best to ask exactly what is in the roll.