back to top
Community

Proof That The State Of Minnesota Is Really A Canadian Province

Hey USA, Canada challenges you to a game of hockey for Minnesota.

Posted on

First off, Canadians and Minnesotans look and sound so gosh darn similar, that even I (a born and bred Canadian) have trouble deciphering sometimes.

View this video on YouTube

Dave Ryan Show / Via youtube.com

Like seriously now, this conversation could've very well taken place in Canada. It's uncanny.

View this video on YouTube

Fargo / Via youtube.com

Now look at this map I found... Paul Bunyan (who is disputedly Canadian) and a Canadian Goose? Are we sure this isn't Canada's 11th province?

Toon Maps / Via images.fineartamerica.com

Furthermore, Canada and Minnesota look an awful lot similar, wouldn't you say? (No, my friend, pictured below is actually a place in Minnesota. I know, eh?)

Minnesota Land Trust / Via mnland.org

Like is this Canada or Minnesota? (The link says it's from Minnesota, but I honestly don't know. It looks a lot like Georgian Bay, Ontario if you ask me!)

Public Radio / Via images.publicradio.org

Look at Minnesota's wildlife... If it weren't for the heading there on the pic, I would've sworn that this was a Canadian wildlife collage.

In addition, Minnesota has very similar weather patterns to the great white north.

The very same meme could be made about most places in Canada.

Star Tribune / Via apps.startribune.com

What's further, did you know Minnesota's state bird is the loon?

That's pretty coincidental don't cha think? Because the loon is essentially the bird of Canada. We even have money named after it (a dollar is called a loonie and two dollars is called a toonie).

the planet D / Via theplanetd.com

It goes deeper, there is actually a city in Minnesota called Little Canada.

Little Canada Website / Via ci.little-canada.mn.us

It was originally called New Canada and became a city in 1974. I wonder if they have a Tim Horton's…

City Data / Via pics4.city-data.com

As if that wasn't enough, both places always enjoy a good ol' game of shinny.

Minnesota Public Radio / Via publicradio1.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com

Or going for a rip on a sled.

Uniquely Minnesota / Via uniquelyminnesota.com

Or doin' a little ice fishing (for the exact same fish Canada has: bass, walleye, and northern pike).

China Daily / Via chinadaily.com.cn

So my neighboring 'Muricans, Minnesotans seem like a fun and friendly bunch. We would totally be okay with adopting them if you ever want to give them up.

If not, I think Canadians and Minnesotans should totally go for a few brewskies and shoot the sh*t around a bonfire. We'll bring the poutine, if Minnesota brings the hot dish!

DD-B / Via dd-b.net

Top trending videos

Watch more BuzzFeed Video Caret right
This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!