go to content
Community

If You Liked Gone Girl, You'll Love These 5 Other Thrillers

Did Flynn make you sweat? Just wait.

Posted on

1. The Dinner by Herman Koch

arts.nationalpost.com

A New York Times Bestseller, Herman Koch takes one dinner between two brothers (and their wives) and turns it into a vivid story of family aggression, young murderers and confusing narratives. It is an quick read, between having only about 300 pages and being completely "unputdownable" as our very own, Gillian Flynn, put it.

2. Girl on a Train by Paula Hawkins

Holy smokes.

The novel follows Rachel, a struggling drunk who was recently dumped by her husband. Since her husband remarries, Rachel takes the train to spy on his new life. In the process, she discovers other information about a neighboring couple and becomes violently entangled in their lives. The only problem is that Rachel can never remember anything clearly!! My gosh. Read it.

3. Defending Jacob

thebookconnection.blogspot.com

Holy smokes part 2. If not more.

Personally, this is the one from the bunch that really kept me up at night.

Defending Jacob is another story with an unreliable narrator and a million twists. the story follows the court case of Jacob who is the son of Andy, a lawyer. The case covers a new concept called the "murder gene" which complicates the family's dynamic.

About 430 pages and worth every "Oh. My. God." moment.

4. The Things They Carry by Tim O'Brien

wikipedia.org

If you're a fan of unreliable narrators (or as much of a fan as one could be), you'll love this book. It is a historical piece about a soldier named Tim in the Vietnam War. He switches time periods and characters but everything ties together in the end and you'll have that "ah-ha" moment, I promise.

5. Where'd You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple

Another story about someone going missing (Bernadette) but this is definitely one of the lighter reads from the 5. I would still consider it a good read for someone who liked Gone Girl but keep in mind that it won't have as many twists and turns. And don't you just want to know what happened to Bernadette?!

This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!

Every. Tasty. Video. EVER. The new Tasty app is here!

Dismiss