Skip To Content
    Posted on Dec 15, 2015

    17 Boozy Hot Chocolate Recipes To Make This Winter

    Hot chocolate with a little bit *extra*.

    1. Kahlua Hot Chocolate

    Chung-Ah Ree / Via damndelicious.net

    Hot chocolate with a hint of grown-up coffee, topped with caramel and chocolate drizzled marshmallows to satisfy your inner kid. Recipe here.

    2. Stout Hot Chocolate

    Floating Kitchen / Via floatingkitchen.net

    Stout is an amazing pairing to chocolate, as is the big scoop of ice cream added on top. Get the recipe.

    3. Red Wine Hot Chocolate

    Kylie Held Mitchell / Via immaeatthat.com

    Red wine and chocolate are star-crossed lovers. Fact. Recipe here.

    4. Guinness Hot Chocolate

    Serious Eats / Via seriouseats.com

    Irish hot chocolate! The guinness adds a beautiful depth to the chocolate, while a little whiskey gives a boozy kick that'll warm you up on a cold night. Get the recipe.

    5. Salted Caramel Vodka Hot Chocolate

    London Bakes / Via londonbakes.com

    Sweet and sticky and so, so freaking good. All hot chocolate needs salted caramel in it. And vodka. Get the recipe.

    6. Black Cherry Bourbon Hot Chocolate

    Rebecca Hubbell / Via sugarandsoul.co

    Like a hot, boozy chocolate berry in a glass. Recipe here.

    7. Tipsy Hazelnut Hot Chocolate

    Amy Wisniewski / Via chowhound.com

    Nutella makes everything 1000x better, so hazelnut liqueur + hot chocolate = a drink that's 1000x better than plain old hot chocolate. Get the recipe.

    8. Peppermint Vodka Hot Chocolate

    Fork vs Spoon / Via forkvsspoon.com

    The peppermint flavour comes from candy-cane infused vodka and I am SO INTO THAT. Recipe here.

    9. Hot Cocoa Martini

    A Cocktail Life / Via acocktaillife.com

    Nostalgia in a glass, this is the way serious cocktail addicts do hot chocolate. Get the recipe.

    10. Grown-Up Hot Chocolate With Baileys Marshmallows

    Jessica Merchant / Via howsweeteats.com

    Try to resist eating all the Baileys marshmallows instead of putting them in your drink. Recipe here.

    11. Boozy Pumpkin White Hot Chocolate

    Dana Shultz / Via minimalistbaker.com

    Creamy white chocolate and spiced pumpkin will have you coming over all American. Recipe here.

    12. Boozy Mexican Spiced Hot Chocolate

    Kara Lydon / Via karalydon.com

    Tastes like an Aztec party in your mouth. It's vegan thanks to coconut milk, and the combo of mezcal (smoky tequila) and cayenne pepper will keep you warm. Get the recipe.

    13. Alcoholic Cinnamon Hot Chocolate

    Erinnish / Via erinnish.com

    Cinnamon, honey, vanilla, and brown sugar make this hot chocolate and rum drink the ultimate in sweet comfort. Recipe here.

    14. Orange Pisco Hot Chocolate

    Serious Eats / Via seriouseats.com

    A hot Terry's chocolate orange in a mug. Get the recipe.

    15. Cinnamon Hot Chocolate with RumChata

    Fashion Edible / Via fashionedible.com

    There is no better name for a liqueur than RumChata. A Caribbean rum with cream, it'll take your hot chocolate to the next level. Recipe here.

    16. Baileys and Amaretto Hot-Tails

    The Londoner / Via thelondoner.me

    Amaretto, chocolate liqueur, and hot milk makes for a creamy, nutty drink that's made for drinking in front of a fireplace. Get the recipe.

    17. Malibu Hot Chocolate

    Shock Munch / Via shockmunch.com

    Coconut and chocolate! It's like a grown-up bounty bar! Recipe here.

    Want amazing recipes in your inbox twice a week? Sign up for the BuzzFeed Food newsletter!