back to top

If You Like These Literary Classics, You Should Read These Indian Novels

Some themes transcend continents.

Posted on

If you liked The Great Gatsby, then you should read Siddharth Dhanvant Shanghvi's The Lost Flamingoes of Bombay.

The Great Gatsby tells the story of a frantic pursuit that ends in heartbreak. Similarly, The Lost Flamingoes Of Bombay begins with a noble quest that takes a dark turn through corruption, murder, betrayal, and the deceit of love.

If you liked Jane Eyre, then you should read Jhumpa Lahiri's The Namesake.

Both stories tackle the ambitious theme of cultural assimilation, except that Jane Eyre shows us the struggles of assimilating into a new culture, whereas The Namesake captures the uphill battles of retaining one's own culture despite displacement.

If you liked Pride and Prejudice, you should read Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance.

Both novels are based in the time periods in which culture and tradition meant everything. But what really creates a parallel between the two is the melodious and witty language each author uses to portray the characters.


If you liked A Tale Of Two Cities, you should read Khushwant Singh's Train to Pakistan.

These novels converge around stories of imprisonment, albeit in different worlds. Despite the vast variance in their contexts, each story sheds light on the ways people are bent and shaped by adversity.

If you liked To Kill a Mockingbird, you should read Arundhati Roy's The God of Small Things.

Both novels — while vastly different in their style and even their message — follow siblings coming of age, while readers discover how our childhood experiences are pivotal in setting the trajectories of our adulthood.

If you liked Lord of the Flies, then you should read Aravind Adiga's The White Tiger.

Both novels speak of the corruption of innocence due to circumstance. They analyze just how far someone will go when their basic instinct of survival kicks in.


If you liked Of Mice And Men, you should read Mridula Koshy's Not Only the Things That Have Happened.

These novels follow their protagonists on simultaneous physical and emotional journeys, exploring their pursuits of purpose while also showing the complexities in relationships with our caretakers.

If you like Wuthering Heights, you should read Sachin Kundalkar's Cobalt Blue.

Both novels explore intense love stories, but the former depicts it through unbridled passion, while the latter explains it through loss and the conflicts that come with society's restrictions.

If you liked 1984, you should read Amitav Ghosh's The Hungry Tide.

Both authors' most formidable strength is their storytelling ability, and their power to prophetically explain a narrative that will make you think about the future in a way you never have before.