back to top
Community

8 Thrillers You Will Devour This Summer

Looking for an adrenaline-inducing summer beach read? From friends turned frenemies to patients gone missing and ghost stories, you cannot miss out on these hot summer thrillers!

Posted on

It's Always the Husband by Michele Campbell

Fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn meet your next obsession. Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny were inseparable in college. 20 years later, one of them is found dead. How did it come to this? Alternating between their college years and the present day, readers slowly come to realize that their friendship was anything but perfect. But can feelings that strong really lead to murder, or will everyone assume, as is often the case, that it’s always the husband? Only one way for you to find out...

Every Last Lie by Mark Kubica

New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl, Mary Kubica is back with another exhilarating thriller as a widow's pursuit of the truth leads her to the darkest corners of the psyche. Clara’s world is shattered when her husband and their 4-year-old daughter are in a car crash, killing Nick while Maisie is remarkable unharmed. Everyone rules the crash as an accident, but when Maisie starts having night terrors, Clara begins questioning what really happened on that fateful afternoon.

Last Seen by J.L. Doucette

Psychologist and police consultant Dr. Pepper Hunt, struggling to deal with the murder of her husband, leaves the private practice they shared to relocate to Wyoming. When her new patient, Kimi Benally, goes missing, Pepper becomes the last person to see her. She knows the secrets Kimi shared in therapy hold clues to her mysterious disappearance, but as she follows the trail of Kimi’s obsession with the past, Pepper begins to fear the worst for her missing patient. Readers will devour this page-turning mystery, full of enthralling characters, sinister plots, and an ending that you won't expect. Be sure to add this exciting new mystery to the top of your summer reading pile.

Lockdown by Laurie King

Principal Linda McDonald is determined to positively impact the reputation of Guadalupe Middle School. In order to do so, she sets of the first annual Career Day to bring everyone together. But not everyone agrees with the initiative. Secrets and motivations are revealed, and only one thing is guaranteed: this Career Day is one no one will ever forget.

The Right Side by Spencer Quinn

LeAnne Hogan isn't the same since she returned from Afghanistan - physically and mentally. After the sudden death of her hospital roommate, Marci, LeAnne journeys to the woman's hometown only to discover that Marci's daughter is missing. So begins LeAnne's quest to find the missing girl. Suspenseful and thrilling, The Right Side cannot be missed.

Need You Dead by Peter James

When Detective Superintendent Roy Grace is called to the scene of a murder, everything seems pretty clear with a prime suspect. But when other events begin to unfold, the case turns more sinister than Roy ever imagined. Carve out some reading time for this one because once you start, you won't be able to stop.

The Breakdown by B. A. Paris

Ever since the night she saw the car in the woods and the woman who was killed, Cass has been a forgetful mess. From her pills to the alarm code, she can't seem to remember anything. As the guilt eats away at her, Cass begins to receive strange silent calls. Is someone watching her? This chilling read will have you checking in the closet and under the bed for months.

Grief Cottage by Gail Godwin

In the mood for a ghost story? Look no further! After the death of his mother, 11-year-old Marcus is sent to live with his great aunt on a small South Carolina island. It's there that he discovers "Grief Cottage," named for the boy and his parents who disappeared from there years ago. While exploring the cottage, Marcus happens upon the ghost boy. Full of curiosity, Marcus begins to court the boy, but is this ghost friendly or following a more sinister agenda?

This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!

Every. Tasty. Video. EVER. The new Tasty app is here!

Dismiss