Here’s What Jay-Z’s "Magna Carta Holy Grail" Sounds Like

Come for the collabs with Beyoncé and Justin Timberlake, stay for the ultra-sentimental ode to his child.

1. As promised, Jay-Z’s new album Magna Carta Holy Grail was released to Samsung phones, and uh, Sharebeast, overnight.

2. The sound of the album isn’t too far off from his last solo record, The Blueprint III – glossy, introspective, and packed with high profile guest stars.

3. Justin Timberlake is prominently featured on the opening track, “Holy Grail.” He opens the album, actually – you don’t even hear Hov until over a minute into the song.

4. “Holy Grail”

View this embed ›

5. Frank Ocean sings on a song called “Oceans,” because Jay-Z was just feeling super imaginative?

6. “Oceans”

View this embed ›

7. There’s a really nice slow jam featuring Beyoncé that has already inspired many romantic image macros.

8. “Part II (On the Run)”

View this embed ›

9. Swizz Beatz, Timbaland, and Pharrell are all over the record too. They all are on “BBC” along with Beyoncé, Timberlake, and Hov’s former rival Nas.


10. “BBC”

View this embed ›

11. There’s even a sentimental song for Jay-Z and Beyoncé’s baby girl Blue Ivy.

12. “Jay-Z Blue”

View this embed ›

13. Here are the full lyrics to that one.

14. The album will be available at traditional retail on Tuesday, but you know, it’s all over the internet right now.

Check out more articles on!

Facebook Conversations
    Now Buzzing