back to top

We’ve updated our privacy notice and cookie policy. Learn more about cookies, including how to disable them, and find out how we collect your personal data and what we use it for.

USDA Reveals Unreleased Food Pyramid From 1997

Hey, kids! Eating "healthy" is fun and cool!

Posted on

Due to a staffing error in 1997, the USDA accidentally hired an 11-year-old boy, who took it upon himself to revise the food pyramid.

Foods were divided into six groups:

- Carbs: 6-11 servings. Eaters should look to keep a strong representation of breakfast-style foods but also mix in items from the cracker group.

- Pizza: 3-4 servings. Look for products incorporating meat, which will up your protein intake.

- Liquids: 2-4 servings. An important—and innovative—aspect of the American diet in 1997 involved treating liquids as a food group. Certain liquids, such as Hi-C, could also provide extra vitamins and nutrients.

- Gummies: 2-3 servings. Search for products rich in color. The more vibrant the hue of your tongue post-snack, the better.

- Dairy: 2-3 servings. Increase calcium intake via spreadable cheeses and yogurts formulated to taste like cereals.

- Blue raspberry: 1-2 servings. While the blue raspberry fruit has been shown to provide boosts of energy, consumption should be limited. (Because blue lips are hard to hide from parents.)