10 Free CDs You Got With Your Delia’s Catalog

Reason #457 why 1998 was the best year: Delia’s started sending those free mix CDs, featuring emerging artists. (Most of whom were promptly forgotten.)

1. The very first Delia’s CD, “Super Girls,” featured a mix of girl artists (who were presumably “super”) made for girl shoppers (also presumably “super”).

Track Listing:
1. “The World Is New” - Save Ferris
2. “Believe” - K’s Choice
3. “Lights Are Changing” - Mary Lou Lord
4. “Believer” - Chantal Kreviazuk
5. “Sway” - Bic Runga
6. “Country Livin’ (The World I Know)” - Esthero
7. “Legend Of A Cowgirl” - Imani Coppola
8. “I&I” - Taja Sevelle

2. Volume 2 was called “Super Smart.” There is a girl wearing glasses on the cover which means listening to this CD made you an intellectual.

Track Listing:
1. “Club Montepulciano” - Hooverphonic
2. “Snow On The Sahara” - Anggun
3. “Young Again” - Josh Wink
4. “Valley of Sound” - Heather Nova
5. “Gaze” - Sweetback
6. “A Day In The Life” - Sylk 130
7. “Smuggleros Cove” - Tuatara
8. “Sweet Lullaby” - Deep Forest

3. Volume 3: “Super Cute.” PUPPIES!

“Super Cute” CD vol. 3 track listing

4. “Super Party” was great for playing at sleepovers. Or at your 13th surprise birthday party.

“Super Party” CD vol. 4 track listing

5. “Super Cool” promised “no love songs whatsoever!” ‘Cause boys: ewwwww.

Track Listing:
1. “Bad Girl” - DJ Rap
2. “Crazy” - Afghan Whigs
3. “You Don’t Know Anything” - Ivy
4. “Mentally Dull” - Vitro
5. “Still Heart” - Cree Summer
6. “Always” - The Mayfield Four
7. “You Don’t Own Me” - Rasputina
8. “I Did” - Frogpond

6. “Super Hot”: The theme here is kind of unclear as you got a mix of alt-rock, female pop singers, indie sounds, and Spanish boy band music.

“Super Hot” CD vol. 6 track listing

7. Then Delia’s tried a different theme starting with vol. 1, “In Your Head,” presumably songs that “got you”?

“In Your Head” CD vol. 1 track listing

8. Volume 2 of this series: “In Your House,” tracks for your next house party (that you thought you’d totally get away with).

“In Your House” booklet art

“In Your House” CD vol. 2 track listing

9. In 2000, Delia’s came out with this wintery compilation, “Ice Scream!”

“Ice Scream” track listing

10. This volume — “Change The Subject” — was also an “enhanced CD-ROM”? Awesome.

Track Listing:
1. “Best Friends” - Angela Via
2. “Haunted” - Poe
3. “Faith on the Table” - Martin Sexton
4. “Favorite Things” - Beth Hart
5. “Take The Rain Away” - Debelah Morgan
6. “Gladys and Lucy” - Victoria Williams
7. “Nevermind Her Hips” - Virginwool
8. “Falling Up The Hill” - Yve Adam

Check out more articles on BuzzFeed.com!

  Your Reaction?

    Starting soon, you'll only be able to post a comment on BuzzFeed using a Facebook account or via our app. If you have questions or thoughts, email us here.


    Now Buzzing