Skip To Content

    Fake Teddy Roosevelt Finally Wins DC's Mascot Race

    After 525 consecutive losses, the Washington Nationals finally let Teddy win. It's a story of triumph and sabotage. But mostly triumph.

    The Presidents Race takes place in the middle of the fourth inning of every Washington Nationals home game. It's a race between mascot versions of George Washington, Abe Lincoln, Thomas Jefferson, and Teddy Roosevelt.

    Flickr: ableman

    (Scott Ableman)

    The race has been going on since 2006, and in all that time Teddy Roosevelt has never won.

    Flickr: presidents-race

    (Let Teddy Win!)

    Over the years a campaign sprung up among Nationals fans to let Teddy win.

    The campaign (and associated blog) has been going on for years, and yet Teddy still always lost.

    Until today...

    Just as the Nationals were getting ready for their first ever playoff game (later this week), Teddy finally made the leap with the help of a fake Phillie Phanatic.

    Congrats Teddy!

    Greg Fiume / Getty Images