Skip To Content

    DeVonta Smith Is The First Wide Receiver To Win The Heisman In Three Decades

    He deserves it, but my jaw still dropped when he won.

    For the first time since 1991, a wide receiver has won the highest individual honor in college football, the Heisman Trophy. Meet DeVonta Smith from Alabama, the 2021 Heisman winner.

    DeVonta Smith staring at Heisman Trophy.
    Handout / Getty Images / Via

    Almost every poll had fans giving the sacred trophy to the Alabama wideout, but it was still shocking to see it actually happen. He received 1,856 of the voting points, while Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence received 1,187 votes, and Alabama quarterback Mac Jones received 1,130.

    This season, he had 105 receptions, 1,641 receiving yards, and 20 touchdowns (he led the FBS in all three categories). He was also the Offensive MVP at the Rose Bowl. He is the first non-quarterback to win the Heisman since Derrick Henry in 2015.

    Smith was beyond gracious in his acceptance speech and even shared some motivating words to young footballers out there:

    "To all the young kids out there that's not the biggest, not the strongest: just keep pushing. I'm not the biggest, I've been doubted a lot just because of my size, and really it comes down to if you put your mind to it, you can do it."

    View this video on YouTube

    No doubt the 22-year-old senior out of Amite, Louisiana will be an inspiration to young wideouts and all under-sized athletes across the country.

    In high school (Amite HS), Smith was a top recruit but billed at 165. His 40-time was 4.49, great but not elite in the eyes of recruiters. He still performed at a high level and got offers from Alabama, LSU, Georgia, Arkansas, and FSU.

    Love poured in from all around the sports world, including former winners like Bo Jackson:

    Congrats young man and Roll Tide to @devontasmith_6 on winning the @HeismanTrophy - Welcome to the club!

    Twitter: @BoJackson

    One of the best of the century:

    Congrats to @DeVontaSmith_6 newest member to the Heisman Club

    Twitter: @ReggieBush

    Former Heisman and Oklahoma Sooner Kyler Murray knows what's up:

    Bro is a PROBLEM! Congrats @DeVontaSmith_6 on joining the @HeismanTrophy fraternity!

    Twitter: @K1

    Derrick Henry retweeted his former school:

    DeVonta has one more championship game to shine, and then, off to bigger and better things in the NFL.

    Heisman Trophy Winners... 2015 - Derrick Henry. 2016 - Lamar Jackson. 2017 - Baker Mayfield. 2018 - Kyler Murray. 2019 - Joe Burrow. 2020 - Devonta Smith. Remember the name.

    Twitter: @NFLUK

    Alabama takes on Ohio State for the National Championship January 11th, and it is one last time for No. 6 to cement his legacy as Alabama's offensive swiss army knife. Win or lose, he will go down in history.

    DeVonta Smith running with football.
    Icon Sportswire / Getty Images / Via

    The Heisman Club is quite the brotherhood, and now, Devonta is one of the immortals.

    DeVonta Smith kissing Heisman Trophy.
    Handout / Getty Images / Via

    Who would have been your first, second, and third place vote if you had one?