Skip To Content

    Here Are 19 Different, Delicious Ways To Eat Challah

    Aside from just tearing into the loaf and eating it straight-up.

    Zoë Burnett / BuzzFeed

    If you're starting from scratch:

    1. Chocolate-Cinnamon "Babkallah"

    Bon Appetit / Via bonappetit.com

    Serious credit to whoever came up with this babka-challah hybrid. Recipe here.

    2. Challah Donuts

    Molly Yeh / Via mynameisyeh.com

    For anyone who loves their donuts properly doughy, not cake-y. Recipe here.

    3. Apple and Honey Challah

    Smitten Kitchen / Via smittenkitchen.com

    Perfect for Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish new year. Recipe here.

    4. Pretzel Challah

    Molly Yeh / Via mynameisyeh.com

    Two delicious breads in one. Nothing can be bad about this. Recipe here.

    5. Brown Sugar Challah With Pomegranate Glaze

    Molly Yeh / Via mynameisyeh.com

    This sweet challah is ideal if you're not super confident with the braiding technique. Also, it's pretty and pink. Recipe here.

    6. Challah Dough Cinnamon Buns

    Joy Of Kosher / Via joyofkosher.com

    Possibly the best way to eat cinnamon buns. Recipe here.

    7. Scallion Pancake Challah

    Molly Yeh / Via mynameisyeh.com

    Jewish and Chinese food should come together more often, if things like this are the result. Recipe here.

    If you want to turn leftover challah into something ~better~:

    8. Morning Bread Pudding With Salted Caramel

    Smitten Kitchen / Via smittenkitchen.com

    Literally feed it to me now. Recipe here.

    9. Whipped Cream-Stuffed French Toast With Raspberries

    Half Baked Harvest / Via halfbakedharvest.com

    Challah is delicious on its own, but adding honey-vanilla cream cheese and lavender sugar doesn't hurt either. Recipe here.

    10. Spicy Thai PB&J

    Food52 / Via food52.com

    A savoury-spicy twist on the classic, using orange marmalade, sriracha, curry powder and basil. Recipe here.

    11. Overnight Cinnamon Raisin Pumpkin French Toast Bake

    Broma Bakery / Via bromabakery.com

    You prep this the night before so that you have effortless, custardy French toast in the morning. Recipe here.

    12. White Cheddar Grilled Cheese

    Barbara Bakes / Via barbarabakes.com

    Spice it up with your favorite pepper relish. Recipe here.

    13. Challah Monkey Bread

    Serious Eats / Via seriouseats.com

    Drown it in vanilla glaze. Recipe here.

    14. Bacon Nutella-Stuffed French Toast

    Foodista / Via foodista.com

    This ain't Kosher, but it is salty 'n' sweet. Recipe here.

    15. Spinach and Fontina Strata

    Jonathan Lovekin / Via marthastewart.com

    Like a savory, breakfast-y bread pudding. Recipe here.

    16. Challah Bread Pudding With Kahlua Cream Sauce

    Bare Feet In The Kitchen / Via barefeetinthekitchen.com

    The definition of a cozy dessert. Recipe here.

    17. Cinnamon Sugar French Toast Sticks

    Averie Cooks / Via averiecooks.com

    Dip in maple syrup, or chocolate sauce. Recipe here.

    18. Make-Ahead Ham and Cheese Breakfast Casserole

    The Kitchn / Via thekitchn.com

    You don't have to make this ahead of time, but it's a convenient option, especially if you're planning a brunch spread. Recipe here.

    19. Chocolate Challah Bread Pudding

    Food Gays / Via foodgays.com

    Because you can never have too many challah bread pudding recipes. And this one has chocolate. Recipe here.