Things Better Than Family Holiday Dinners

Could anything possibly be better than getting treated like you’re 16 again? The holidays are a time to renew awkward relationships with people who believe it’s 1998 and you just backed the Ford Escort into the garage door. Other Kodak moments include…

1. Becoming a man.

Daniel Lawson / CC BY http://2.0 / Flickr: daniellawson
ID: 722984

2. Becoming a manbot.

ID: 722985

3. Joining the army.

Cherie A. Thurlby / OASDPA / CC BY http://2.0 / Flickr: soldiersmediacenter
ID: 723279

4. Joining the army.

Vince Viloria / CC BY-SA http://2.0 / Flickr: vinceviloria
ID: 723280

5. Joining el ejercito.

Jose Luis Cernadas Iglesias / CC BY http://2.0 / Flickr: jlcernadas
ID: 723282

6. Earning the respect of your platoon.

The http://U.S. Army / CC BY http://2.0 / Flickr: soldiersmediacenter
ID: 723284

7. Holiday dinner with Wilson.

Mary Evans Picture Library / Everett Collection
ID: 723290

8. Getting your first job.

Bo Gordystith/ CC BY-SA http://2.0 / Flickr: pbogs
ID: 723291

9. Prom.

Ben Brown / CC BY-SA http://2.0 / Flickr: benbrown
ID: 723292

10. Graduating from Hogwarts.

Ravi Shah / CC BY http://2.0 / Flickr: ravi-shah
ID: 723294

11. Saying “Let’s just be friends.”

Satish Krishnamurthy / CC BY http://2.0 / Flickr: unlistedsightings
ID: 723298

12. Finding “Mr. Right.”

Tony Alter / CC BY http://2.0 / Flickr: 78428166@N00
ID: 723299

13. Starting a family.

Pieterjan Vandaele / CC BY http://2.0 / Flickr: pjanvandaele
ID: 723300

14. Quitting your job to spend more time with your family.

Alex Wong / Getty Images
ID: 723301

15. Quitting your job to spend more time with your family.

Spencer Platt / Getty Images
ID: 723302

16. Quitting your job to spend more time with your family.

Sara D. Davis / Getty Images
ID: 723304

17. Making your child’s birthday wish come true.

Eric Fleming / CC BY http://2.0 / Flickr: efleming
ID: 723305

18. Making your grandpa’s birthday wish come true.

Charley Gallay / Getty Images
ID: 723306

19. Welcoming Santa to Idaho.

Joe Ross / CC BY-SA http://2.0 / Flickr: joeross
ID: 723307

20. Lighting the tree.

ID: 723308

(And watching “Ted” on Blu-ray!)

ID: 723644

Check out more articles on!

  Your Reaction?