An American Has Won The Boston Marathon For The First Time Since 1985

Meb Keflezighi, a 38-year-old from San Diego, has won the Boston Marathon with a time of 2:08:28.

Meb Keflezighi, of San Diego, celebrates as he crosses the finish line, becoming the winner of the 118th Boston Marathon. AP Photo/Charles Krupa

ID: 2813710

The 2014 Boston Marathon winners:

Men’s Race
Meb Keflezighi (2:08:28)

Women’s Race
Rita Jeptoo (2:18:57)

Men’s Wheelchair Division
Ernst van Dyk (1:20:36)

Women’s Wheelchair Division
Tatyana McFadden (1:35:06)

Men’s Handcycle
Samuel Spencer (1:18:34)

ID: 2813711


A Man Proposed To His Girlfriend On The Finish Line Of The Boston Marathon

Finish line proposal! She said yes! #wbz #bostonmarathon

— Paula Ebben (@PaulaEbbenWBZ)
ID: 2814868

The crowd at Fenway Park celebrates as Meb Keflezighi is announced on a scoreboard.

Fenway breaks into "USA!" chant & standing ovation as scoreboard shows the men's marathon winner. @universalhub

— Maya Jonas-Silver (@mayajonassilver)
ID: 2814607

Standing O at #Fenway for @runmeb as the #BostonMarathon results posted to scoreboard #USA

— Bill Driscoll Jr. (@BDriscollJr)
ID: 2814616

Meb Keflezighi, 38, from San Diego, and Rita Jeptoo, 33, of Kenya, are the Elite Men’s and Elite Women’s division winners of the 2014 Boston Marathon.

Winners! #wbzmarathon

— Ken Tucci (@KenTucci)
ID: 2814535

American runner Meb Keflezighi wins the Boston Marathon with a time of 2:08:50.

ID: 2814413

Keflezighi is the first American man to win the marathon since 1983, and the first American since 1985.

Meb becomes the first American man to win the #BostonMarathon since 1983. #GoMebGo

— Boston2024 (@Boston2024)
ID: 2814415

Rita Jeptoo has set a Boston Marathon record with a time of 2:18:57, the eighth fastest marathon time ever.

ID: 2814323

Jeptoo is now the seventh three-time winner of the Boston Marathon.

Rita Jeptoo of Kenya has won the #BostonMarathon again with a new course record of 2:18:57

— Joanna S. Kao (@joannaskao)
ID: 2814344

Many spectators are heading toward Boylston Street as Rita Jeptoo and Mare Dibiba, leading the Elite Men’s and Women’s divisions, respectively, close in on the the finish line.

Many walking towards the marathon finish line @bostoncommons #BostonMarathon

— Jaeyoung Byun (@TheCitizensEye)
ID: 2814197

Ernst van Dyk, South African six-time Paralympian, has won the men’s wheelchair race for the 10th year in a row.

ID: 2813858

Tatyana McFadden, a three-time Paralympian, has won the wheelchair race for the women.

ID: 2813953

The last wave of runners have started the race. There are many runners who were unable to finish last year that are running in the last group.

ID: 2814196

If Rita Jeptoo continues her current pace, she could set a Boston Marathon record, finishing the marathon in under two and a half hours.

ID: 2814301

This year’s marathon features a considerably higher police presence.

ID: 2813764

“@MassStatePolice: The flyover as the #BostonMarathon is about to begin. ”

— NE-NY-NJ Wx and News (@NEnglandWx)
ID: 2813766

Along with more than 100 cameras installed along the marathon route, acting as “observation points,” according to the Boston Athletic Association.

Poison nothin but a good time is blaring at the start line #BostonMarathon #wbz

— Joe Giza (@JoeGiza)
ID: 2813767

Marathon finish line two hours before the first runners will cross. #bostonmarathon

— Mike Hayes (@michaelhayes)
ID: 2813772

ID: 2813804

Check out more articles on!


More News

More News

Now Buzzing