back to top

Co-Champions Crowned In Spelling Bee For The First Time In 52 Years

Ansun Sujoe and Sriram Hathwar both won the 2014 Scripps National Spelling Bee after spelling all words in the final round.

Posted on

After a heated competition Thursday night, two young men — Ansun Sujoe and Sriram Hathwar — were declared co-champions of the Scripps National Spelling Bee for the first time since 1962.


Once he had spelled his word correctly, it was up to Sujoe to spell his word correctly for both to win. Sujoe's final word was "feuilleton," which is part of a European newspaper, and he spelled it correctly.

Michelle Broder Van Dyke is a reporter and night editor for BuzzFeed News and is based in Hawaii.

Contact Michelle Broder Van Dyke at

Got a confidential tip? Submit it here.