Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton Signs Marriage Equality Bill Into Law

The law, allowing same-sex couples to marry, takes effect Aug. 1. Minnesota is the 12th state, plus DC, to recognize marriage equality, following on the heels of passage in Rhode Island and Delaware.

Massive crowds #mnmarriage

— jeffreythompson (@Jeffrey Thompson)

Justice & equality win. Gov. Dayton has signed MN same sex marriage bill, making ours the 12th state where, truly,"all you need is love."

— USRepRickNolan (@U.S. Rep. Rick Nolan)

There you go MN!!!!!! Dayton signs same-sex marriage law at outdoor ceremony http://t.co/KS84lV5xCM

— dynamobikes (@Ben Dymond)

At the Capitol for Gov. Dayton's signing of the marriage bill. Witnessing history. #samelove

— Will_Hoverman (@Will Hoverman)

The day belongs to decent minded people. Minnesota Governor Dayton has signed the freedom to marry into law.

— joshortiz (@Josh Ortiz)

my homie mark dayton comin through on this one

— lucayy97 (@Lucy Trotter)

Displaying colors #mnmarriage #mnleg

— jeffreythompson (@Jeffrey Thompson)

Woot woot Minnesota! Dayton has signed and legalized the freedom to marry!

— nat_dunks (@Natalie Duncan)

A few silent tears watching Dayton sign marriage equality while preparing dinner at the group home. #time4marriage #ifinallybelong

— BlakeMacKenzie (@Blake MacKenzie)

Tiago Ferreira and Paul Kuechenmeister relaxing in the sun. #mnmarriage #mnleg

— jeffreythompson (@Jeffrey Thompson)

The Law Allows Same-Sex Couples To Marry Beginning Aug. 1:

Gov Dayton signed the bill and now my birthday is going to become the marriage anniversary of many, many happy couples. #August1 #mnmarriage

— MattSmithNow (@Matt Smith)

Check out more articles on BuzzFeed.com!

Chris Geidner is the legal editor for BuzzFeed News and is based in Washington, D.C. In 2014, Geidner won the National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association award for journalist of the year.
Contact Chris Geidner at chris.geidner@buzzfeed.com
More News
Now Buzzing