State Department Will Reopen 18 Diplomatic Posts That Had Been Closed Due To Terror Threat

“On Sunday, August 11, the Department of State will re-open 18 of the 19 embassies and consulates that were closed recently,” the State Department said in a statement. The U.S. Embassy in Sanaa, Yemen and the U.S. Consulate in Lahore, Pakistan will remain closed.

Mohamed Al-Sayaghi / Reuters

The compound of the U.S. Embassy in Sanaa, Yemen.

Check out more articles on!

Michael Rusch is a socials editor for BuzzFeed News and is based in New York. Rusch was selected by Time as having one of the 140 Best Twitter Feeds of 2013.
Contact Michael Rusch at
Got a confidential tip? Submit it here.
More News
More News
Now Buzzing