back to top

PSA: Instagram Now Tells You When Someone Screenshots Your Disappearing Photos

Be careful out there.

Posted on

So Instagram rolled out an update this week that introduced live video, as well as a feature that allows you to send disappearing photos and videos privately.

Instagram

To send a disappearing photo or video, swipe right from the main feed to open the Stories camera, capture your photo or video, then tap the arrow on the bottom right to send it privately to users or groups.

Needless to say, people are freaking out.

Instagram telling people when u screenshot their picture now???

Instagram has been sending notifications to people when you screenshot their pictures...

INSTAGRAM GOT SCREENSHOT NOTIFICATIONS NOW

Instagram is giving screenshot notifications now?

It's sent some into full-on panic mode.

Instagram is now telling people when you screenshot their stuff.

instagram telling people when you screenshot their posts now?!

Instagram's now saying when we screenshot pictures, LOL please

instagram now notifies people when u screen shot their pictures. me:

This refers to temporary photos and videos that are sent directly to you and are displayed in the row of Stories-style bubbles along the top of your inbox.

Instagram

Instagram does not send a notification when someone takes a screenshot anywhere else in the app.

This means you can still screenshot a user's feed, their public Instagram Story, and a nondisappearing direct message without them knowing.

Now you know, so be careful out there. 👀

Kassy Cho is a reporter with BuzzFeed News and is based in London.

Contact Kassy Cho at kassy.cho@buzzfeed.com.

Got a confidential tip? Submit it here.