Skip To Content

    13 Fantastic Books To Read After Binging "Tiny Pretty Things" On Netflix

    Dance fever.

    1. Tiny Pretty Things by Dhonielle Clayton and Sona Charaipotra

    Harperteen

    Read the books that started it all! We all know that when it comes to book to TV adaptions things will change, which is why reading Tiny Pretty Things was the perfect refresher course. Dhonielle Clayton and Sona Charaipotra's debut novel features a diverse group of ballerinas duking it out to be the prima ballerina at their mega elite school. Friends, foes, gossip, lies. Inject it directly into my quarantine-brain. The scandal continues in the gripping sequel, Shiny Broken Pieces!

    2. The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

    Freeform

    One of the best parts about Tiny Pretty Things is the fierce competition between young girls that reveals secrets and hopes hidden beneath the glitz and glam. If you love that aspect, then Clayton's first solo series, The Belles, will fill that gap. In the Marie Antoinette's court-inspired world of Orleans, everyone is born gray, and only a group of girls have the magical ability to change you down to your bones. These are the Belles, and only one girl can be the Queen's favorite. When beauty is a commodity, what price would you pay to be beautiful?

    3. Symptoms of a Heartbreak by Sona Charaipotra

    Imprint

    For a punch of the real world, try Symptoms of a Heartbreak by Sona Charaipotra. Saira is the world's youngest doctor―and she's only sixteen! Fresh from med school, this prodigy is a certified genius, accidental celebrity, and starting her first job treating children with cancer. But when she finds herself falling for a patient―a teen boy diagnosed with cancer―helping him get might risk everything she's worked hard for.

    4. Life in Motion: An Unlikely Ballerina by Misty Copeland and Charisse Jones

    Aladdin Paperbacks

    "Picture a ballerina in a tutu and toe shoes. What does she look like?" Misty Copeland has made history as the only Black American soloist dancing with the prestigious American Ballet Theatre. In this memoir, Copeland invites the reader into the key moments of her life, like her first auditions, her big dreams and hard work, and her triumphant performances on the stage.

    5. Bunheads by Sophie Flack

    Poppy Books

    This novel about the competitive world of professional ballet was written by a former New York City Ballet dancer! Ballet is not for the faint of heart, and one of the things Bunheads and Tiny Pretty Things show is the emotional and physical toll on the dancers. In Flack's debut novel, Hannah Ward juggles rehearsals, performances, and cut-throat relationships around her. That all changes when she meets a sweet musician who opens her eyes to what's important in life.

    6. Dancing in the Wings by Debbie Allen, illustrated by Kadir Nelson

    Puffin Books

    Emmy-winning actress and choreographer, Debbie Allen brings her expertise to Dancing in the Wings, a picture book about a girl with big dreams about ballet. Sassy is worried that she doesn't fit the part to become a star ballerina. She enjoys dancing in the wings, always behind the curtain, but never in the spotlight. When a director comes to audition dancers in her class, Sassy knows it's her time to shine.

    7. Up to this Pointe by Jennifer Longo

    Random House Books for Young Readers

    When you dream big, you're always ready for the chance things won't go your way. If you watch the show, you know what I mean. In Jennifer Longo's Up to This Pointe, Harper Scott has a plan. She wants to be a professional ballerina. But when her life plans go sideways, Harper tells a (few) lies to get her way to McMurdo Station in Antarctica — the site where her relative Robert Falcon Scott, the explorer who died racing Amundsen and Shackleton to the South Pole. Doing some massive self-reflection, and with a little help of Shackleton's ghost (the explorer who didn't make it to the South Pole, but who got all of his men out alive) Harper is about to learn a hard lesson about success.

    8. Taking Flight: From War Orphan to Star Ballerina by Michaela DePrince, with Elaine DePrince

    Ember

    Misty Copeland herself said, "Michaela is nothing short of a miracle, born to be a ballerina." Michaela DePrince was known as girl Number 27 at the orphanage in Sierra Leone. Due to a skin condition that makes her skin appear spotted, she was abandoned and tormented as a “devil child.” When she was four, Michaela was adopted by American parents who encouraged her love of dancing, and after years of training, she's become one of ballet's most rising stars. Her story is getting the Hollywood treatment and Madonna herself is set to direct.

    9. I Wanna Be Where You Are by Kristina Forest

    Roaring Brook Press

    Kristina Forest's brilliant debut rom-com is about a girl who chases her wildest dreams. Chloe Pierce has been forbidden from applying for a spot at the dance conservatory of her dreams. Naturally, she breaks the rules and sets off on a two-hundred-mile road trip to get to the audition. The only bump in the road? The annoying boy-next-door Eli threatens to snitch unless he can tag along. This is the set up for an epic road trip romance.

    10. Bright Burning Stars by A.K. Small

    Algonquin Young Readers

    One of the questions Tiny Pretty Things asks is "How far would you go to be the best?" It's a theme also prevalent in Bright Burning Stars by A.K. Smalls. For inseparable BFFs Marine Duval and Kate Sanders, attending the Paris Opera Ballet School is part of their shared dream. But now it's the final year and tensions are high. Suddenly, they're both competing for the same boy and the coveted "Prize." They have everything to gain, and each other to lose.

    11. Turning Point by Paula Chase

    Greenwillow Books

    For the tween reader in your life, check out Turning Point by Paula Chase. Best friends Rasheeda and Monique are both good girls. Rasheeda follows the rules and Mo tries to not make waves at the prestigious and mostly white ballet intensive she’s in. But what happens when the invisible racial barriers to Mo’s success as a ballerina turn out to be not so invisible? This is the story of girls navigating first loves and tough choices.

    12. Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma

    Algonquin Young Readers

    A story about a dancer, with a ghostly twist. Three girls are tried behind secrets, guilt, and innocence. There's Violet, a ballerina whose dreams are threatened with the shocking truth of her achievements. There's Amber, serving time at a juvenile detention center for the murder of her step-father. Then there's Orianna, known as "Bloody Ballerina," who holds the key to the girls' dark revelations.

    13. Dancer, Daughter, Traitor, Spy by Elizabeth Kiem

    Soho Teen

    The title says it all. If you're in the mood for a spy novel with a touch of the paranormal, this one's for you. Marina's mother, Sveta, is the Soviet Union's prima ballerina handpicked by the regime. But Sveta is more than a dancer. She has the second sight. When she tries to expose a horrific state secret, she disappears. Marina and her father defect to America, where they try to have normal lives. For Marina, that means studying at Juilliard and cozying up to her partner Sergei. Her normal life lasts about two seconds after she gets her own vision of her father being murdered by the Russian organization they left behind. Is there anyone Marina can trust?

    Want great book recommendations in your inbox every week? Sign up for the BuzzFeed Books newsletter!

    Newsletter signup form