The 20 Most Common NCAA Division I Mascots

While some colleges encourage creativity, twenty mascots make up over one third of all NCAA schools.

20. Cardinals (3*)

SCHOOLS: Ball State, Lamar, Louisville.

*Incarnate Word will be joining Division I in July.

19. Rams (4)

SCHOOLS: Colorado State, Fordham, Rhode Island, VCU

18. Raiders (4)

SCHOOLS: Colgate, Middle Tennessee State [Blue], Texas Tech [Red], Wright State

17. Owls (4)

SCHOOLS: Rice, Temple, Florida Atlantic, Kennesaw State

16. Knights (4)

SCHOOLS: Rutgers [Scarlet], Army [Black], Central Florida, Farleigh Dickinson

15. Devils (4)

SCHOOLS: Arizona State [Sun], Central Connecticut [Blue], Duke [Blue], Mississippi Valley State [Delta]

14. Bobcats (4)

SCHOOLS: Montana State, Ohio, Quinnipiac, Texas State

13. Bison (4)

SCHOOLS: North Dakota State, Bucknell, Howard, Lipscomb

12. Spartans (5)

SCHOOLS: Michigan State, Norfolk State, UNC Greensboro, San Jose State, South Carolina Upstate

11. Lions (5)

SCHOOLS: Arkansas-Pine Bluff [Golden], Columbia, Loyola Marymount, Penn State [Nittany], Southern Louisiana

10. Huskies (5)

SCHOOLS: Connecticut, Houston Baptist, Northeastern, Northern Illinois, Washington

9. Aggies (5)

SCHOOLS: UC Davis, New Mexico State, North Carolina A&T, Texas A&M, Utah State

8. Cougars (6)

SCHOOLS: BYU, College of Charleston, Chicago State, Houston, SIU Edwardsville, Washington State

7. Panthers (8)

SCHOOLS: Eastern Illinois, Florida International, Georgia State, High Point, Northern Iowa, Pittsburgh, Prairie View A&M, Milwaukee

6. Bears (9)

SCHOOLS: Baylor, Brown, California [Golden], Central Arkansas, Maine [Black], Mercer, Missouri State, Morgan State, Northern Colorado

5. Hawks (9*)

SCHOOLS: Hartford, Lehigh [Mountain], Maryland Eastern Shore, Miami [Red], Monmouth, St. Joseph’s, Seattle [Red], Southest Missouri [Red], Tennessee-Martin [Sky]

*UMass Lowell [River] will join Division I in Fall of 2013.

4. Wildcats (9*)

SCHOOLS: Arizona, Bethune-Cookman, Davidson, Kansas State, Kentucky, New Hampshire, Northwestern, Villanova, Weber State
*Abilene Christan will join Division I on July 1

3. Tigers (12)

SCHOOLS: Auburn, Clemson, Grambling State, Jackson State, LSU, Memphis, Missouri, Pacific, Princeton, Savannah State, Tennessee State, Texas Southern

2. Eagles (15)

SCHOOLS: American, Boston College, Coppin State, Eastern Michigan, Eastern Washington, Florida Gulf Coast, Georgia Southern, Marquette [Golden], Morehead State, Niagara [Purple], North Carolina Central, Oral Roberts [Golden], Southern Miss [Golden], Tennesse Tech [Golden], Winthorp

1. Bulldogs (15)

SCHOOLS: Alabama A&M, Bryant, Butler, Fresno State, The Citadel, Drake, Gardner-Webb, Georgia, Gonzaga, Louisiana Tech, Mississippi State, UNC Asheville, Samford, South Carolina State, Yale

Check out more articles on!

This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!

  Your Reaction?


    Hot Buzz

    The Best Beauty And Fashion Trends Of 2016


    Sorry, But Maisie Williams Was Actually The Best-Dressed Person At The Golden Globes

    Now Buzzing