Skip To Content
    Posted on Mar 19, 2017

    15 Things You Need To Know About Drake's "More Life"

    The rapper shares details about his relationship with Jennifer Lopez, for one.

    1. It's not an album, or a mixtape, it's a playlist.

    Cash Money Records

    It looks like an album and it's being sold online like an album, BUT Drake's insisting it's a playlist. Don't ask me why.

    2. He spills some tea about he and rumored ex-bae Jennifer Lopez.

    3. He's not done taking shots at Meek Mill.

    Mike Coppola / Getty Images

    One of many examples is this lyric from "Free Smoke:" "How you let the kid fightin' ghost-writin' rumors turn you to a ghost?"

    4. Yes that's Sampha singing on "4422," even though the track strangely doesn't include a feature credit or his name in the title like the others.

    XL Recordings

    Like most of us, Drake is apparently a big fan of the singer's heavenly vocals. This is their third collaboration, after "The Motion" and "Too Much."

    (P.S. 4422 is an IRS tax form — to be exact, an "Application for Certificate Discharging Property Subject to Estate Tax Lien," whatever that means.)

    5. "Jorja Interlude" samples Stevie Wonder's harmonica solo from Drake's 2011 song "Doing It Wrong."

    6. Drake's latest cultural obsession? London Town.

    Tim P. Whitby / Getty Images
    Tim P. Whitby / Getty Images

    The UK's Grime scene to be exact. He features a couple of the subgenre's artists, including Giggs and Skepta.

    7. Drake takes advantage of the current trap wave, adding features from rappers like Quavo, Travis Scott, Young Thug, and of course, 2 Chainz.

    Emma Mcintyre / Getty Images
    Dimitrios Kambouris / Getty Images
    Frazer Harrison / Getty Images

    Surprisingly, no one mentioned the word Versace even once.

    8. His long-time obsession with island music is prevalent on tracks like "Madiba Riddim" and "Blem."

    Gawriloff / Getty Images

    Still not sure what island Drake thinks he's from, exactly.

    9. Drake's back to his old ways of including people's voicemail messages on his songs. This time it's one from his mom, who seems to be a fan of Michelle Obama.

    In a very mom-like fashion, Aubrey's mother Sandra calls to tell him that she's concerned about the negative tone she's hearing in his voice these days. She ends her message with a take on Michelle Obama's famous slogan during the 2016 Democratic National Convention: "when others go low, we go high." Long live Voicemail Drizzy.

    10. We finally get a proper Drake and Kanye collaboration — one Ye may have dropped a clue about more than six months ago.

    Ok bear with me, there's a bit to unpack here.

    Both rappers have said that they are working on a joint album. Then Drake released a version of "Pop Style" with Kanye and Jay Z verses last year, but when Views came out on Apple Music and the like, Ye's verse had curiously been replaced with another from Drake. Then Kanye made Drake the target of one of his many rants during the Saint Pablo tour. Drake responded to this during an interview on his OVO Sound radio show on Beats 1, "I went from being… like working on a project with him, to him sorta publicly shitting on me and DJ Khaled for being on the radio too much.”

    I'm still not sure if Kanye producing and rapping on "Glow" is a sign that the two were able to patch things up, but it does seem North knew this was coming for quite awhile.

    Fun Fact: The track includes Earth, Wind, and Fire's classic "Devotion" #fortheculture.

    11. Drake may or may not have told Nicki Minaj he still wants her on "Ice Melts."

    12. "Nothings Into Somethings" seems like it's about his old flame Serena Williams' recent engagement.

    Theo Wargo / Getty Images

    "Did I just read that you just got engaged on me? / I heard from your friend, you couldn't even tell me / Or better yet, wait on me... At least do I get an invitation or something / A statement or something / Ask about that, you would say it was nothing."

    Serena does have a friend who is dating someone on the OVO team. The tea is hot.

    13. Kendall Jenner is one of the only celebrity women directly named on the playlist.

    Rommel Demano / Getty Images

    Drake has a history of shouting out women on his music, but on More Life, he reverts to talking about women without naming names, with the exception of Kendall Jenner.

    14. We may not hear from Drake again until 2018.

    Christopher Polk / Getty Images

    The playlist's last song, "Do Not Disturb" ends with these lines: "Taking summer off cause they tell me I need recovery / Maybe gettin' back to my regular life will humble me / I'll be back in 2018 to give you the summary."

    15. Don't worry, More Life has supplied us with plenty of Instagram captions to get through the summer.

    TV and Movies

    Get all the best moments in pop culture & entertainment delivered to your inbox.

    Newsletter signup form