back to top
Community

6 Summer Must-Reads By YA Authors We Love

From crazy summer jobs to adventures in Neverland, the summer is chocked full of page-turning YA reads from the authors we know and love. Grab your favorite sun hat and head for the beach with these summer reads. Just make sure you pack a lot of sunscreen, because we guarantee that once you start reading, you won't be able to stop!

Posted on

The Lake Effect by Erin McCahan

Briggs Henry just graduated high school, broke up with his girlfriend, and is anxious to leave his parent’s money problems behind. He’s got a great job along the shores of Lake Michigan and plans to take full advantage of his time away. His expectations are slashed when he arrives and is told to put on a suit for his boss’s funeral...What follows is a summer of social gaffes, romantic encounters, and drawers full of funeral programs. Erin McCahan has done it again with this quintessential summer read guaranteed to make you laugh, cry, and everything in between.

The Impossible Vastness of Us by Samantha Young

This timeless coming-of-age novel follows India Maxwell – a girl who not only moved across the country, but also fell to the bottom of the social ladder. As she struggles to adjust to her new life and project a semblance of popularity, she dives into the complexities of her new peers – and not everything is as it seems. When the truth comes out, who will be left standing?

Wendy Darling: Vol. 3: Shadow by Colleen Oakes

In the third and final installment of the bestselling Wendy Darling series, Wendy is on a mission to free Neverland from Peter Pan’s menacing shadow once and for all. Will she be able peel Neverland from Peter's wrath, or will everyone be destroyed by the darkness? Colleen Oakes shines in this unputdownable fairy tale retelling full of heart-pounding action, adventure, and a heroine everyone will root for.

Generation One by Pittacus Lore

When an alien race leaves behind amazing power on earth, human teenagers begin to gain fantastic abilities. In an attempt to control these new super-beings, the Garde enlists them into an elite school where they can train and understand their new powers. But not everyone thinks that’s the best use of the powers, and trouble isn’t far behind. Soon, the teens realize that they will have to work together or risk losing everything they’ve ever known.

Rift Uprising by Amy Foster

Ryn Whitaker has a secret. On the outside, she’s your typical teenage girl. But what most people don’t know is that she’s a superhuman soldier guarding Earth’s future. When she meets a young man named Ezra who emerges from the Rift, she develops an undeniable attraction to him - and her world is turned upside down. Will she be able to fulfill her duty to the Earth and her heart? Perfect for fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Rift Uprising is a heart-pounding and fast-paced YA thriller full of incredibly relatable characters and an intriguing storyline.

Now I Rise by Kiersten White

Lada Dracul is a lonesome queen with no kingdom to rule. Fueled by rage, she attempts to take her rightful land by force – but soon she realizes she cannot force what her heart truly desires. Lada's loyalty is tested, forcing her to choose between the family and kingdom she thinks she wants, and the love her heart desires. Nations will fall, thrones will be won, and someone will come out on top – but will it be Lada?

This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!

Every. Tasty. Video. EVER. The new Tasty app is here!

Dismiss