Skip To Content

    Everything You Need To Know About The New "Black Mirror", According To Charlie Brooker

    Charlie Brooker sat down with BuzzFeed UK to reveal some details of the six new episodes on Netflix, which debuts on 21 October.

    The first Black Mirror trailer has FINALLY dropped.

    View this video on YouTube

    Netflix / Via

    Charlie Brooker spoke enthusiastically to BuzzFeed UK about the upcoming season, and gave some clues about what to expect. "This time around, we’ve got a detective story, we’ve got a romance, we’ve got a horror romp, we’ve got a playful social satire, we’ve got a grimy horrible thriller and a military story."

    If you do not want to know anything about the episodes featured, don't scroll down. Not that they contain spoilers, but they do contain clues.

    The episodes featured in the trailer are:

    1. "San Jupeniro" – a retro episode set in 1987, starring Gugu Mbatha-Raw and Mackenzie Davis.

    2. "Nosedive" – Starring Bryce Dallas Howard, this episode is set in a world in which everyone is ranked. There's an obsession with having a high rating, because without one, you don't get access to things you desire.

    3. "Playtest" – an episode about a guy who tries a horror video game so advanced it's bloody terrifying.

    4. "Shut Up and Dance" – an episode on cyberbullying and a guy who falls into a situation where he has no control of his actions.

    5. “Men Against Fire” – Malachi Kirby and Madeline Brewer star in a war-themed episode about a mission to destroy some feral mutants.

    6. And “Hated in the Nation” – a feature-length episode, set in London, about a string of mysterious deaths related to Twitterstorms on social media.

    The order of these episodes has not been announced, but Brooker admitted that it has been problematic to work out the order that the episodes will appear on Netflix.

    Black Mirror launches in all territories on 21 October.