Skip To Content

    The Cast For Netflix's New Series "Heartstopper" Has Just Been Announced, And My Little Gay Heart Can't Take It

    YA fans assemble!

    Netflix has revealed details of the cast for its upcoming gay teen romance Heartstopper, based on the incredible YA graphic novels by Alice Oseman!

    Kit Connor and newcomer Joe Locke have been cast to play Nick and Charlie, respectively.

    Netflix

    Following an open casting that saw over 10,000 people audition, Kit (Rocketman, His Dark Materials) was chosen to play Nick Nelson, a popular year 11 student with a gentle demeanour. He befriends Charlie Spring, played by Joe, a highly strung, openly gay over-thinker in the year below. As their friendship blossoms both start to wonder, could there be something more?

    Fans of Love, Victor, Handsome Devil, and Elite will adore Heartstopper. The series is based on a popular set of graphic novels – which I have been OBSESSED with for a while – that follow a couple of British grammar school boys who become friends and eventually fall head over heels for each other!

    💓HEARTSTOPPER updated today!💓 a quiet moment alone https://t.co/Ve4WmDhFgg https://t.co/lAeEKSZ0vv https://t.co/WXGpIbrMcD

    Charlie and Nick meet at Truham Grammar School for Boys, become friends, and quickly discover a romance is blossoming between them. Along the way, they realise there is a strong community of allies and friends around them, helping them to access their authentic selves, but also teaching them there is no "right way" to come out.

    Of the choice to cast Kit and Joe, Alice said, "they're both so talented, sweet, funny, and smart, and so perfect. It has been such fun getting to know them and welcoming them into the Heartstopper universe, and I can’t wait to see them bring the characters to life on screen."

    Heartstopper is currently filming in the UK until summer 2021, and will be available in eight 30-minute episodes. Though there's no release date yet, that just gives you time to check out the graphic novels the series is based!

    Alice has published three book volumes of Heartstopper, and Vol. 4 publishing this May!

    BuzzFeed Daily

    Keep up with the latest daily buzz with the BuzzFeed Daily newsletter!

    Newsletter signup form