Skip To Content

    The Release Date For Netflix's New Series "Heartstopper" Has Just Been Announced, And My Little Gay Heart Can't Take It

    YA fans assemble!

    Netflix has revealed details of the cast and launch date for its upcoming gay teen romance Heartstopper, based on the incredible YA graphic novels by Alice Oseman!

    Kit Connor and newcomer Joe Locke have been cast to play Nick and Charlie, respectively.

    Fans of Love, Victor, Handsome Devil, and Elite will adore Heartstopper. The series is based on a popular set of graphic novels – which I have been OBSESSED with for a while – that follow a couple of British grammar school boys who become friends and eventually fall head over heels for each other!

    💓HEARTSTOPPER updated today!💓 a quiet moment alone https://t.co/Ve4WmDhFgg https://t.co/lAeEKSZ0vv https://t.co/WXGpIbrMcD

    Charlie and Nick meet at Truham Grammar School for Boys, become friends, and quickly discover a romance is blossoming between them. Along the way, they realise there is a strong community of allies and friends around them, helping them to access their authentic selves, but also teaching them there is no "right way" to come out.

    Of the choice to cast Kit and Joe, Alice said, "they're both so talented, sweet, funny, and smart, and so perfect. It has been such fun getting to know them and welcoming them into the Heartstopper universe, and I can’t wait to see them bring the characters to life on screen."

    Heartstopper launches on Netflix on 22 April 2022 and will be available in eight 30-minute episodes – that gives you time to check out the graphic novels the series is based on!

    Alice has published three book volumes of Heartstopper, and Vol. 4 publishing this May!

    If you can't wait for this series, check out the trailer below:

    View this video on YouTube

    youtube.com

    Are you excited Heartstopper the series? Let us know in the comments below!