Skip To Content
    Posted on 9 Sep 2016

    It's Official: Coldplay Is Performing In India And Here’s How You Can Get A Free Ticket

    The Global Citizen Festival will be held in Mumbai on November 19, and fans can attend at no cost by completing a series of tasks for social change over the next few weeks.

    Ever since the band snuck into the country to prep and shoot for "Hymn For The Weekend" in 2015, Indian fans have constantly been bombarded with rumours of Coldplay gigs that never materialised.

    Kevin Winter / Getty Images

    The situation has only been fuelled over the past year by events such as the band performing secret gigs in New Delhi with All India Bakchod, and Chris Martin meeting Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

    Twitter: @PMOIndia

    The meeting was worth it, guys.

    After fresh speculations started making the rounds recently, we now *finally* have official confirmation that COLDPLAY IS GOING TO PLAY IN MUMBAI ON NOVEMBER 19.

    .@coldplay headline the 1st #GlobalCitizen Festival in India on 11/19! Tix are FREE by taking action. More Monday!

    They're also going to be joined by some other huge artists who will be announced soon.

    The band will be performing as part of the Global Citizen Festival – which frontman Chris Martin heads as creative director – that aims to eradicate global poverty by 2030.

    Craig Barritt / Getty Images

    Established in 2012, the Global Citizen Festival is an annual star-studded benefit concert that has seen performances by musical legends such as Kendrick Lamar, Beyoncé, Metallica, Alicia Keys, Stevie Wonder, Rihanna, and many more.

    Now, there's been a lot of misinformation floating around about how tickets for the concert will cost fans upwards of ₹25,000. FALSE. Here's what the real deal is...

    You can attend the gig for free (yes, FREE) by performing a series of tasks in support of education, equality, and sanitation initiatives.

    Kevin Winter / Getty Images

    Fans can earn their tickets by taking part in phone, email, and social media campaigns, and earning points that can be redeemed for concert passes once they have enough.

    Theo Wargo / Getty Images

    These "action campaigns" can include anything from signing petitions, sharing information via Twitter and Facebook, and writing letters to politicians or calling their offices about issues affecting the world’s poor.

    Users will have to register and log their progress on the site, which goes live on September 12, following which more information about the tasks and artist lineup will be released.

    Theo Wargo / Getty Images

    So, there you go. This is your chance to attend a once-in-a-lifetime gig for free (and hopefully make the world a little better in the process).

    Follow Global Citizen India on Twitter and Facebook for more information.

    BuzzFeed Daily

    Keep up with the latest daily buzz with the BuzzFeed Daily newsletter!

    Newsletter signup form