Skip To Content
  • Quiz badge
Posted on Sep 17, 2015

How Well Do You Actually Know The Laws Of Rugby?

The Rugby World Cup is upon us – but do you know the intricacies of the rules?

Thinkstock / BuzzFeed
  1. 1. Let's start off fairly easy, how many people are in the scrum (not including the scrum half)?

    Correct! 
    Wrong! 

    8 players from each team

  2. 2. How far must the ball travel from the kick-off?

  3. 3. Under which of these conditions can a player not call "mark"?

    Correct! 
    Wrong! 

    You can't call "mark" unless you catch the ball on the full.

  4. 4. If a maul stops, what length of time do the players have to get it moving again before the maul is considered unsuccessful?

    Correct! 
    Wrong! 

    USE IT OR LOSE IT!

  5. 5. If a team makes a mistake during kick-off, which of these can the opposition not choose to do?

  6. 6. What is the minimum number of people required to form a line-out?

    Correct! 
    Wrong! 

    If two players from each team are present, you can't take a quick lineout.

  7. 7. What happens if a player gets more than one yellow card in a game?

    Correct! 
    Wrong! 

    Though two yellow cards is fairly rare these days.

  8. 8. Which of these offences can carry the longest ban?

    Correct! 
    Wrong! 

    Ouch...

    (Although the punishments for eye gouging are constantly being reassessed, testicle grabbing carries a maximum ban of four years).

  9. 9. To award a penalty try, how certain does the ref need to be that the defending team used misconduct to prevent a try being scored?

    Correct! 
    Wrong! 

    They don't have to be 100% sure.

  10. 10. What is the referee signalling here?

    Steve Bardens / Stringer
    Correct! 
    Wrong! 

    It's similar to the scrum signal, but this means a player has been punched.

  11. 11. You can fake a quick lineout, but what happens if you fake throwing the ball in during a standard lineout?

  12. 12. If a maul forms at a lineout, what options do the players in the lineout have?

    Correct! 
    Wrong! 

    You often see players hanging around looking confused though.

  13. 13. Can you ever score a try while in touch?

    Correct! 
    Wrong! 

    This is incredibly rare!

    And most referee never get presented with this situation in their careers.

  14. 14. A deliberate forward pass results in a penalty, an accidental forward pass results in...

  15. 15. FINALLY! What the hell does the referee actually say before the scrum these days?

    Correct! 
    Wrong! 

    Crouch, bind, set!

    But it will probably be different by this time next week.

BuzzFeed Daily

Keep up with the latest daily buzz with the BuzzFeed Daily newsletter!

Newsletter signup form