Skip To Content

    Green Day And N.W.A. Might Get Into The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame

    *'80s babies everywhere do a collective spit-take*

    The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced the full list of nominees for induction in 2015 today and it included Green Day, N.W.A, Nine Inch Nails, Kraftwerk, Chic, The Smiths, Sting, and more.

    Rock 'n' roll's most prestigious and — some would say, conservative — honor, the Hall of Fame has been reinventing itself in recent years, as we move further and further away from the genre's early golden age.

    Last year, Nirvana was inducted with a widely praised ceremony that featured performances by Lorde, St. Vincent, and Kim Gordon.

    Kraftwerk would be a rare primarily electronic artist to join the exclusive club, while N.W.A. would follow just two other hip-hop groups to be inducted: Run DMC and The Beastie Boys.

    Read the full list of nominees below.

    The Paul Butterfield Blues Band


    Green Day

    Joan Jett & the Blackhearts


    The Marvelettes


    Nine Inch Nails

    Lou Reed

    The Smiths

    The Spinners


    Stevie Ray Vaughan


    Bill Withers