14 Lost Wu-Tang Clan Classics

There are dozens of Wu solo albums, so it’s easy for amazing songs to fall through the cracks. Here are some of the best.

1. Method Man, “Torture” [1998]

Meth’s second album, Tical 2000: Judgement Day, was extremely spotty but this top-notch slow song brings out a pensive, melancholy side of him that tends to be very underrated.

2. Cappadonna, “Slang Editorial” [1998]

Cappadonna has been a Wu-Tang mainstay since Wu-Tang Forever, but to this day is only considered to be the unofficial 10th member of the group. As such, even his best-known solo single, “Slang Editorial,” is fairly obscure. That’s too bad, really – its woozy horn sample and slow yet rugged beat sound great alongside classics from the Wu’s mid-’90s glory days.

3. RZA featuring Method Man, “NYC Everything” [1998]

RZA’s experiments with clean, purely electronic production in the late ’90s yielded mixed results, but this bouncy cut from his Bobby Digital solo album is excellent and sorta mesmerizing. The verses are great too, even when RZA inexplicably makes the word “menstruate” sound more like “administrate.”

4. Inspectah Deck, “Movas and Shakas” [1999]

Inspectah Deck is beloved by Wu-Tang fans, but he never caught on beyond that audience because his debut solo album came out well after the first wave of Wu hype. If “Movas and Shakas” had come out in 1995 instead of 1999, Deck’s career might be very different today.

5. Ghostface Killah, Raekwon, and Slick Rick, “The Sun” [2001]

Ghostface is, by some distance, the most prolific Wu rapper. Either that or he’s just the lucky guy who has had the label support to put out a lot of records over the past decade. This whimsical number featuring rap legend Slick Rick was cut from his third album, Bulletproof Wallets, for issues involving sample clearances.

6. U-God, “Wildstyle Superfreak” [2002]

U-God has distinct voice and a unique flow that doesn’t make sense on a lot of songs but is incredibly impressive when paired with the right beat. His solo work is mostly forgettable, but he shines on this raw non-album track.

7. Raekwon, Method Man, and Cappadonna, “Ice Cream Pt. 2” [2003]

Sequels to rap songs usually suck, but this one holds up very well in comparison to the original “Ice Cream” from Only Built 4 Cuban Linx.

8. Masta Killa, GZA, and Inspectah Deck, “Street Corner” [2004]

Masta Killa was just a kid when he contributed a verse to the very first Wu-Tang album, and he didn’t fully find his voice as a rapper until The W came out in 2000. He matured a lot on his solo albums in the mid ’00s, but unfortunately for him, only hardcore Wu fans paid attention. This melancholy cut from his debut, No Said Date, is a fine showcase for his talent as well as that of his mentor, the GZA.

9. Method Man featuring Ghostface Killah, “Afterparty” [2004]

This charming, lighthearted number turned up on the otherwise lackluster Method Man solo album Tical 0: The Prequel. Meth and Ghost have incredible chemistry on this track.

10. Ol’ Dirty Bastard featuring Macy Gray, “ODB, Don’t Go Breaking My Heart” [2004]

There are a lot of technically unreleased ODB solo tracks out there, and a lot of them are quite good. This warped cover of Elton John and Kiki Dee’s “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart” amps up the oddball charm of both Dirty and his duet partner Macy Gray.

11. Wu-Tang Clan, “9 Milli Bros” [2006]

The last song to feature all 10 members of the Wu-Tang Clan was featured on Ghostface’s acclaimed album Fishscale. It’s not quite as obscure as other tracks on this list, but it’s totally essential.

12. Ghostface Killah, Raekwon and U-God, “Rec Room Therapy” [2007]

This is a brilliant track with some great storytelling by Ghostface and Raekwon, but it’s mostly notable for what could be the best verse of U-God’s career to date.

13. Ghostface Killah, “Stay’ [2009]

Ghostface’s R&B-centric Ghostdini album was mostly panned by critics when it was released in 2009, but this tender, surprisingly romantic number is one of the best tracks of his rather exceptional solo career.

14. Method Man, Ghostface Killah, and Raekwon, “Our Dreams” [2010]

This song, produced by the RZA, came out on the Meth/Ghost/Rae group album Wu-Massacre. It’s the only track that really lives up to the promise of the record, and one of only three cuts to feature all three rappers on the same track.

Check out more articles on!

  Your Reaction?

    Starting soon, you'll only be able to post a comment on BuzzFeed using a Facebook account or via our app. If you have questions or thoughts, email us here.


    Now Buzzing