Skip To Content
    Updated on Aug 31, 2020. Posted on Apr 15, 2015

    37 Reasons Why Denmark Will Ruin You For Life

    The best and most underrated European country.

    1. Let's talk about Denmark, shall we?

    Pavel Titov / Via Flickr: titov

    Frederiksborg Castle

    2. It may be a small European country, but it's also seriously amazing.

    Thinkstock

    Copenhagen

    3. From the villages of Jutland...

    Mathias Liebing / Via Flickr: mathias764

    Lønstrup

    4. To the canals of Copenhagen.

    Sigfrid Lundberg CC BY-SA / Flickr: sigfridlundberg
    Arne Halvorsen / Flickr: arne-halvorsen

    5. Denmark is just gorgeous.

    Nigel's Europe & beyond CC BY-SA / Via Flickr: nigel321

    Odense

    6. And often surreally beautiful.

    PowderPhotography CC BY-NC-ND / Via Flickr: powderphotography

    The Øresund Bridge, between Copenhagen in Denmark and Malmö in Sweden

    7. It is breathtaking in the winter...

    Fc Nikon / Via Flickr: fcnikon

    8. (Even in a middle of a snowstorm.)

    Jack Fussell CC BY-NC-ND / Via Flickr: travelingtribe

    Copenhagen

    9. In the summer...

    Spreng Ben CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: sprengben

    Bornholm

    10. And any other season.

    Kristoffer Trolle / Via Flickr: kristoffer-trolle

    Kongens Have, Copenhagen

    11. The country has great castles.

    Santiago S V / Via Flickr: neluco

    Frederiksborg Castle

    12. MANY great castles.

    Mandias / Via Flickr: mutantmandias

    Egeskov Castle

    13. Including Kronborg, of Hamlet fame.

    Getty Images / Thinkstock

    It is known as Elsinore in the play.

    14. But Denmark doesn't live in the past.

    Pablo Herrera Cruz / Via Flickr: pabhc

    The Black Diamond, the modern extension to the Royal Danish Library, in Copenhagen

    15. It embraces and fosters contemporary art and architecture. Like in the ARoS museum in Århus.

    Dan Zelazo / Via Flickr: 1yen

    16. Or buildings like the Gemini Residence in Copenhagen.

    Wojtek Gurak CC BY-NC / Via Flickr: wojtekgurak

    17. Denmark has beautiful wild beaches...

    Eric Gross / Via Flickr: hozho

    Near Skagen, Jutland

    18. And quaint cottages.

    Jacob Surland / Via Flickr: jacobsurland

    Hellebæk

    19. It also has amazing fauna.

    Frank Schmidt / Flickr: 48018151@N05

    Dyrehaven

    20. No wonder then that the Danes are super eco-friendly!

    Jørgen Falck CC BY-NC-SA / Flickr: mitflickr
    John Nuttall / Flickr: 16822508@N05

    21. They basically live on their bikes.

    Angel Perez CC BY-SA / Via Flickr: jarafi

    Copenhagen

    22. No matter how many people they have to carry.

    Colville-Andersen CC BY-NC / Via Flickr: 16nine

    Copenhagen

    23. Or how bad the weather is.

    Colville-Andersen CC BY-NC-ND / Via Flickr: 16nine

    Copenhagen

    24. Denmark is also the birthplace of Lego AND the home to LEGOLAND!

    Peter Leth CC BY / Flickr: peterleth
    MPD01605 / Flickr: mpd01605

    In other words: If you don't like Denmark, you don't like fun.

    25. Danes know how to have fun, and Denmark is home to the two oldest operating amusement parks in the world. This is Dyrehavsbakken, the oldest one, in a picture from 1901.

    The Film Museum CC BY-NC-ND / Via Flickr: 36461985@N08

    26. And this is Tivoli, which has been the most delightful place on Earth since it opened in 1843.

    Stig Nygaard CC BY / Via Flickr: stignygaard

    It is also located right in the heart of Copenhagen.

    27. The food is also delicious. Whether it's high-end meals, like at Noma...

    28. ...or the always satisfying Smørrebrød.

    currystrumpet CC BY-SA / Flickr: currystrumpet
    currystrumpet / Flickr: currystrumpet

    29. But most importantly, Denmark is the birthplace of Carlsberg, probably the best beer in the world.

    Peter Kirkeskov Rasmussen CC BY-NC-SA / Flickr: peterras

    30. Can we take a few seconds to talk about how awesome Copenhagen is?

    Tanyasv / Getty Images

    Nyhavn

    31. It is beautiful.

    Sergiyn / Getty Images

    Christiansborg Palace

    32. Full of history.

    meikimeik CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: meikimeik

    Nyboder

    33. And it strikes the perfect balance between traditional and contemporary, which is a rare and remarkable thing in Europe.

    Peter Kirkeskov Rasmussen CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: peterras

    34. The city is also home to Christiania, an amazing autonomous neighborhood that has welcomed alternative cultures since 1971.

    Binary Koala CC BY-SA / Flickr: binary_koala
    PDXdj / Flickr: pdxdj

    35. So yeah, Denmark is pretty amazing.

    Anshar73 / Getty Images

    Amagertorv Square, Copenhagen

    36. And you can be sure of one thing...

    Bo Nielsen CC BY-NC-SA / Via Flickr: bo47

    Lolland

    37. If you spend some time there, it will ruin you for any other place.

    That's Me CC BY-NC-ND / Via Flickr: rogernilsson

    Rubjerg Knude lighthouse.

    The picture in No. 2 has been changed to one of Copenhagen. A previous version of this post showed a picture of Stockholm's skyline at night instead.

    BuzzFeed Daily

    Keep up with the latest daily buzz with the BuzzFeed Daily newsletter!

    Newsletter signup form