Skip To Content
  • Quiz badge

What's Your Love Language? Take This Quiz To Find Out

"Receiving gifts is my favorite thing!"

BuzzFeed Quiz Party!

Take this quiz with friends in real time and compare results

Check it out!

The "five love languages" are based on Gary Chapman's 1992 book, The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate. Essentially, the concept is that there are five main ways people give and receive love: through acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, words of affirmation, and physical touch.

Just in case you needed a refresher, here are some examples of each love language:

Acts of service — making your SO coffee in the morning or running an errand so that they don't have to. It can also be something bigger like breakfast in bed.

Giving/receiving gifts — this can of course apply to big gifts, but smaller gifts like random flowers or giving them their favorite candy bar also count.

Quality time — being together without distractions and giving each other your undivided attention can entail activities like going on a hike, having dinner, or just making time to talk about your day.

Words of affirmation — compliments, duh. But this also includes showing verbal appreciation, encouragement, and saying "I love you."

Physical touch — cuddling, kissing, holding hands, giving each other massages, hugging, and having sex are all example of this.

Going beyond romantic relationships, your love languages can be applied to family, friendships, and other relationships. Everyone has a primary love language and a secondary love language — what are yours?