Skip To Content

    The 9 Painful Stages Of Realizing You Live In A "White Person Bubble"

    I understand that I don't understand.

    Stage one: Unconscious enjoyment.

    Stage one can last anywhere from a few years to a lifetime.

    Stage two: Someone or something you see in the media tries to point out that you may be in a "white person bubble."

    Stage three: Knee-jerk reactive anger.

    Stage four: Denial.

    Stage five: Discovery.

    Stage six: Realization.

    Stage seven: Completely freaking out and trying to pop the bubble.

    Stage eight: Realizing that you, as one person in one moment of time, can't pop the bubble — yours or anyone else's.

    Stage nine: Full-on, devastating acceptance that you are in a white person bubble.