Skip To Content

    “Slates For Sarah” Is Hollywood’s Heartwarming Response To Crew Member’s Fatal On-Set Accident

    Sarah Jones was working on a film set last Thursday when she was struck and killed by a train. Her family and friends created Slates for Sarah to honor her life, and it's truly awesome.

    This is Sarah Jones. She was a 27-year-old camera assistant who worked on major film and television sets, including The Vampire Diaries.

    Sarah Jones / Via Facebook: events

    Her obituary says, "From the heights of the mountains she hiked, to the depths of the oceans she dove (and never without a camera to record her experiences), the gift of her presence was felt far and wide."

    Sarah was working as a second camera assistant on the new Greg Allman biopic, Midnight Rider, when she was struck and killed by a train.

    All of us on the production team are devastated by the tragic accident. Our thoughts and prayers are with the family of our crew member.

    Midnight Rider@AllmanBiopic

    All of us on the production team are devastated by the tragic accident. Our thoughts and prayers are with the family of our crew member.

    02:25 PM - 22 Feb 14ReplyRetweetFavorite

    Devastated by the news of the tragedy on our @AllmanBiopic yesterday. Prayers to the crew/families & spirt/soul of the life that was lost.

    Eliza Dushku@elizadushku

    Devastated by the news of the tragedy on our @AllmanBiopic yesterday. Prayers to the crew/families & spirt/soul of the life that was lost.

    04:20 PM - 21 Feb 14ReplyRetweetFavorite

    Her friends and family made a Facebook page, Slates for Sarah, where film colleagues can post film slates dedicated to Sarah.

    Jessica Lopez / Via Facebook: Steadijess

    So far, the page has 9,400 likes and has received slates from numerous major TV shows.

    Curtis Bonds Baker / Via Facebook: curtisbbaker

    The Vampire Diaries

    Marc Casey / Via Facebook: marc.casey.75

    The Mindy Project

    Jeff Saldin / Via Facebook: jeff.saldin

    Glee

    Penny Sprague/ Facebook: penny.sprague
    Penny Sprague / Facebook: penny.sprague

    Parks and Recreation

    Abby Linne / Via Facebook: abby.linne

    Castle

    Tim Roe / Via Facebook: tim.roe.33

    Black Sails

    Anton Rollino / Via Facebook: anton.rollino

    Hawaii Five-O

    Harry Bring / Via Facebook: harry.bring

    Brooklyn Nine-Nine

    Cheli Clayton / Via Facebook: cheli.clayton

    Criminal Minds

    Harry Bring / Via Facebook: harry.bring

    Grimm

    Rizal Sambo / Via Facebook: RizalSambo

    Arrow

    Slates for Sarah / Via Facebook: slatesforsarah

    Anger Management

    Richard Sanchez / Via Facebook: RJSanchez81

    Halt and Catch Fire

    Josh Gilbert / Via Facebook: josh.gilbert.3956

    Revenge

    Chad B. Daring / Via Facebook: chad.b.daring

    Elementary

    Kyle Blackman / Via Facebook: kyle.blackman.73

    Togetherness

    Tyler Romary / Via Facebook: tyler.romary

    Mistresses

    Blake Collins / Via Facebook: BLAKESNAKEMOAN

    Devious Maids

    Freddy Chancellor / Via Facebook: freddychancellor

    Justified

    Robert Sharman / Via Facebook: robert.sharman.2572

    The Crazy Ones

    Michael Mesirow / Via Facebook: michael.mesirow

    Scandal

    Heather Kehayas / Via Facebook: heather.kehayas

    NCIS

    Jacqueline Nivens / Via Facebook: jacqueline.nivens

    Person of Interest

    John Oliveri / Via Facebook: john.oliveri.9

    Rake

    Dale White / Via Facebook: dale818

    Rectify

    Joseph Thomas / Via Facebook: joseph.f.thomas

    Chicago PD

    Chris Wittenborn / Via Facebook: chriswittenborn

    Sarah's friends are also rallying to get Sarah included in the "In Memoriam" section of the Academy Awards this Sunday.

    David WInston / Via Facebook: david.winston.37

    To see and send more, check out Slates for Sarah.

    BuzzFeed Daily

    Keep up with the latest daily buzz with the BuzzFeed Daily newsletter!

    Newsletter signup form