Entertainment

Hollywood And Friends Pay Tribute To Philip Seymour Hoffman

The Oscar-winning actor, who was found dead on Sunday, is considered one of the greatest performers of his generation.

Robert Galbraith / Reuters

Such shocking & sad news. RIP Philip Seymour Hoffman. One of the greatest actors of a generation and a sweet, funny & humble man.

— Ricky Gervais (@rickygervais)

Very sad day! R.I.P. #PhillipSeymourHoffman

— octavia spencer (@octaviaspencer)

Rest in peace Philip Seymour Hoffman. You were one of the best. You're gone way too soon. #RIPPhilipSeymourHoffman

— Joel McHale (@joelmchale)

OH NO!!!!! Philip Seymour Hoffman has died. A truly kind, wonderful man and one of our greatest actors - ever

— mia farrow (@MiaFarrow)

I am shocked and saddened by Phil Hoffman's death. Huge talent. Huge heart. Rest in Peace PSH.

— Mangold (@mang0ld)

R.I.P. Philip Seymour Hoffman. One of the greats of his generation.

— Albert Brooks (@AlbertBrooks)

Philip Seymour Hoffman was a brilliant, talented man. The news this morning is shocking and sad. My heart goes out to his loved ones.

— Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow)

Oh no, not Philip Seymour Hoffman! We've lost another one of our most talented actors. My thoughts and love go out to his family.

— Roland Emmerich (@rolandemmerich)

I have no words. You will be missed!

— christina applegate (@1capplegate)

Philip Seymour Hoffman was one of the greatest actors of our lifetime.

— Zach Braff (@zachbraff)

My heart is broken, my mind is racing. My idol has died and I am so confused and sad by this tragic loss. RIP #philipseymourhoffman

— Josh Gad (@joshgad)

Dear Philip, a beautiful beautiful soul. For the most sensitive among us the noise can be too much. Bless your heart. ;^{

— Jim Carrey (@JimCarrey)

Rest in peace Philip Seymour Hoffman. We who marveled at each of your performances, are grateful and very very sad. http://t.co/XcbJG6CAUY

— mia farrow (@MiaFarrow)

Phillip Seymour Hoffman was a genius, brave and sweet. Can't believe he's gone. Huge loss. My deepest sympathy for his wife and children.

— Susan Sarandon (@SusanSarandon)

Can't believe the news about Phil Hoffman. One of the most charming, understated and generous men i've worked with. And my favourite actor.

— chris o'dowd (@BigBoyler)

Just heard the news about @ Philip Seymour Hoffman. RIP my friend and God speed. You will always have a special place in my heart.

— Isiah Whitlock Jr. (@IsiahWhitlockJr)

Phillip Seymour Hoffman was one of the greatest actors of our time. Really terrible news today.

— John Legend (@johnlegend)

RIP Philip Seymour Hoffman. So sad. Such a great talent.

— Jon Favreau (@Jon_Favreau)

Rest in peace, PSH. Such a divine talent.

— Kate Walsh (@katewalsh)

So increadibly sad to hear one of my favorite actors has passed. RIP Philip Seymour Hoffman.

— Jesse Tyler Ferguson (@jessetyler)

Just hearing about Phillip Seymour Hoffman. Devastating. What an amazingly gifted actor. RIP

— Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake)

Beautiful beautiful man. We have lost so much joy to something so joyless. RIP PSH.

— Lena Dunham (@lenadunham)

Terrible news. What a nice and unbelievably talented guy.

— Seth Rogen (@Sethrogen)

29. Anton Corbijn, director of A Most Wanted Man, one of Hoffman’s two movies at the Sundance Film Festival:


Hearing that Philip Seymour Hoffman passed away came as much as a shock to me as to anyone else I’d imagine. We spent some time together only two weeks ago and he seemed in a good place despite some issues he had to deal with. He was not only the most gifted actor I ever worked with (and, judging by the legacy he leaves behind, I am certain I share this with most if not all directors who were fortunate enough to work with him), he had also become an incredibly inspiring and supportive friend. I am so terribly sad as I find it impossible to comprehend what happened today and to collect my thoughts properly. I have to think about Mimi [O’Donnell] and the children and I wish them much strength coping with the loss of this truly great man as a father and partner.

Check out more articles on BuzzFeed.com!