Skip To Content
  • How To Adult badge
Updated on 5 Sep 2020. Posted on 24 Sep 2019

25 Easy Meal Prep Ideas For When You Have No Idea What To Cook

These are sure to make you feel like a proper ~adult~.

BuzzFeed

Ah, meal prepping. It's one of those ~adulting~ things you always aspire to do, but never end up actually doing. It always seems way too hard, complicated and tbh, a little bland.

Nickelodeon

Actual footage of me resigning myself to an extremely exxy lunch at work because I didn't meal prep.

But in reality, meal prepping is what you make it. You can choose to have the same old pasta day in, day out — which sounds boring AF — OR you can ~spice~ things up a bit and save some cashola while you're at it.

Digg / Via digg.tumblr.com

It's a win-win — healthy, delish food and more money in the bank to spend on important purchases like those boots you were eyeing on ASOS.

So without further ado, here are some meal prep recipes that are the complete opposite of boring, bland and complicated.

1. This Mediterranean-inspired chickpea salad that's not only easy to make, but is packed FULL of flavour.

Chelsea's Messy Apron / Via chelseasmessyapron.com

2. This honey sriracha chicken with jasmine rice and broccoli that will keep your tastebuds from getting bored.

The Girl On Bloor / Via thegirlonbloor.com

3. This garlic butter salmon and asparagus that'll have you feeling like a master chef in no time at all.

Eat Well 101 / Via eatwell101.com

4. This chicken sausage pasta that's so easy to prep, you can do it while watching Netflix.

Smile Sandwich / Via smilesandwich.com

5. This baked tilapia and veggies combo that only needs a single pan to prepare.

Gimme Delicious / Via gimmedelicious.com

6. This spiced chicken, beans and rice combo that's bound to make all your colleagues jealous.

Pinch Of Yum / Via pinchofyum.com

7. This jar of mocha-flavoured overnight oats that give you the perfect start to your morning.

Cozy Peach Kitchen / Via cozypeachkitchen.com

8. This teriyaki chicken meatball feast that's sure to be a favourite all week long.

Unbound Wellness / Via unboundwellness.com

9. This crispy falafel salad featuring a tahini maple dressing that is sure to brighten your day.

Sweet Peas And Saffron / Via sweetpeasandsaffron.com

10. This garlic butter steak and zucchini noodle that doesn't compromise on taste or flavour.

Kirbie Cravings / Via kirbiecravings.com

11. This insanely delicious fall harvest salad that takes your regular veg and chicken to a new level.

Smile Sandwich / Via smilesandwich.com

12. This Korean chicken lunch bowl topped with slaw and jasmine rice.

The Girl On Bloor / Via thegirlonbloor.com

13. This vibrant chicken burrito bowl that's much healthier and delicious than its takeout counterpart.

Damn Delicious / Via damndelicious.net

14. This Thai chicken salad with a skinny peanut dressing that will never not taste delicious.

Little Spice Jar / Via littlespicejar.com

15. This chicken fajita loaded with roasted capsicums and onions that's sure to be a crowd pleaser.

My Food Story / Via myfoodstory.com

16. This cold sesame noodle salad that's topped with chickpeas, spiralised veg and an insanely delicious almond dressing.

Sweet Peas And Saffron / Via sweetpeasandsaffron.com

17. This chipotle chicken lunch bowl that can be prepped four different ways so you don't get lunch time boredom.

My Food Story / Via myfoodstory.com

18. This simple but delicious cheesy broccoli and rice that just screams comfort food.

Gimme Some Oven / Via gimmesomeoven.com

19. This maple ginger chicken stir fry that features the perfect balance of sweet and savoury.

Sweet Peas And Saffron / Via sweetpeasandsaffron.com

20. This banana, chocolate chip and walnut oatmeal cup that works a treat if you need to have breakfast on the go.

Savory Nothings / Via savorynothings.com

21. This colourful vegetarian lo mein that's chock full of veggies and wholewheat spaghetti.

Damn Delicious / Via damndelicious.net

22. This turkey meatball and zucchini noodle duo that will make you forget all about pasta.

Damn Delicious / Via damndelicious.net

23. This hearty Moroccan-spiced chickpea bowl that's perfect for the cooler months.

The Kitchn / Via thekitchn.com

24. This chicken, kale and tomato pasta that has a heavenly garlic flavour to it.

Budget Bytes / Via budgetbytes.com

25. And finally, this curry spiced chicken that proves, once and for all, that meal prep doesn't have to be bland or boring AF.

Flav City / Via flavcity.com

FYI if you attempt just one of these recipes, then congrats, because being an adult with a balanced lifestyle is NOT easy.

CBC
BuzzFeed

It’s adulting week at BuzzFeed Oz! We’re celebrating everything it means to be an adult in 2019 — and discussing how to be a better one. Click here to check out more.