Skip To Content

    17 Hash Brown Recipes, 'Cause They're The Greatest Breakfast Carb

    Toast who?

    by ,
    Zoë Burnett / BuzzFeed

    1. Cheesy Baked Hash Brown Patties

    View this video on YouTube

    youtube.com

    Serves: 9

    INGREDIENTS

    4 red potatoes

    ½ cup butter, melted

    1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

    2 eggs, whisked

    ¼ cup chives, chopped

    1 tablespoon garlic salt

    1 teaspoon oregano

    ½ teaspoon pepper


    PREPARATION

    1. Preheat oven to 400°F/200˚C.

    2. Peel and grate the potatoes.

    3. Drop shredded potatoes into a large bowl of ice water to remove surface starch.

    4. Strain or squeeze potato shreds and transfer to a large bowl.

    5. Add butter, cheese, eggs, chives, garlic salt, oregano, and pepper in with the shredded potatoes. Mix together.

    6. Take a handful of the mixture and pack it on a baking sheet into desired hash brown shape.

    7. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until brown and crispy. Allow to cool for 5 minutes.

    Serve warm and enjoy!

    2. Potato Avocado "Toast"

    The Organic Kitchen / Via theorganickitchen.org

    Topped with a homemade poached egg = perfection. Recipe here.

    3. Breakfast Pizza With A Hash Brown Crust

    The Gunny Sack / Via thegunnysack.com

    Pizza, hash browns, together for breakfast... there are no words. Recipe here.

    4. Waffle-Iron Hash Browns

    Serious Eats / Via seriouseats.com

    A genius & savory way to use a waffle iron. Recipe here.

    5. Furikake Latkes

    mynameisyeh.com / Via mynameisyeh.com

    Latkes are essentially the Jewish answer to hash browns. These ones are spiked with Furikake, an Asian seasoning made up of seaweed and toasted sesame seeds. Recipe here.

    6. Cauliflower Hash Brown Breakfast Sandwich

    I Am A Food Blog / Via iamafoodblog.com

    These hash browns sub cauliflower for potato, making them... healthy? Whatever, they're delicious. Recipe here.

    7. Skillet Hash Browns

    Bon Appetit / Via bonappetit.com

    Ideal for feeding a brunch crowd. Recipe here.

    8. Sweet Potato Hash Brown Egg Nests

    Real Food Whole Life / Via realfoodwholelife.com

    How damn cute. Recipe here.

    9. Smoky Baked Hash Browns

    The Kitchn / Via thekitchn.com

    Flavored with paprika and scallions. Recipe here.

    10. Creamy and Crispy Hash Browns Frittata

    Averie Cooks / Via averiecooks.com

    Pure comfort food. Recipe here.

    11. Breakfast Hash Brown Cups

    Damn Delicious / Via damndelicious.net

    Filled with cheesy scrambled eggs, bacon, spinach, and mushroom. Recipe here.

    12. 3-Minute, All-Crispy Hash Browns

    Food52 / Via food52.com

    Yep, 3 minutes is all it takes. Recipe here.

    13. Hash Brown Crust Quiche Lorraine

    Recipe Tin Eats / Via recipetineats.com

    A dish that's equally great for brunch, lunch, or dinner. Recipe here.

    14. Zesty Baked Hash Browns

    A Spicy Perspective / Via aspicyperspective.com

    Ideal if you're not up to frying first thing in the morning. Recipe here.

    15. Crispy Hash Brown Hay Stacks

    Minimalist Baker / Via minimalistbaker.com

    Packed with corn, fresh parsley, and shallots. Recipe here.

    16. 3-Ingredient Kimchi Hash Browns

    The Kitchn / Via thekitchn.com

    Just seasoned, shredded hash browns, kimchi, and a little oil. Recipe here.

    17. Classic Hash Browns

    The Pioneer Woman / Via thepioneerwoman.com

    A straightforward guide to making the perfect, classic hash browns, here.