79 Countries That Have Already Had Their First Female Leader

    Just sayin'.

    This list includes heads of government and heads of state, not including monarchs or governors appointed by monarchs. (Sorry, queens!) Where it says "acting", it usually means someone was the vice president or deputy prime minister who took over from a president or prime minister, sometimes for a short amount of time. Also, this list includes some ONLY PARTIALLY RECOGNISED countries and LEADERS YOU MAY CONSIDER BAD, but chill, that's not the point.

    1. Pakistan

    2. Ceylon/Sri Lanka

    Sirimavo Bandaranaike was prime minister of Ceylon from 1960 to 1965, making her the first elected female head of government in the modern world, and served again from 1970 to 1977 (during which time the country was renamed Sri Lanka). Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga was prime minister of Sri Lanka in 1994, and then president from 1994 to 2005.

    3. Jamaica

    4. Ireland

    Mary Robinson was president of Ireland from 1990 to 1997, and Mary McAleese was president from 1997 to 2011.

    5. India

    Indira Gandhi was prime minister of India from 1966 to 1977, and again from 1980 to 1984. Pratibha Patil was president from 2007 to 2012.

    6. Bangladesh

    Khaleda Zia was prime minister of Bangladesh from 1991 to 1996 and 2001 to 2006, and Sheikh Hasina was prime minister from 1996 to 2001 and from 2009 onwards.

    7. The Philippines

    Corazon Aquino was president of the Philippines from 1986 to 1992, and Gloria Macapagal Arroyo was president from 2001 to 2010.

    8. Ukraine

    9. Central African Republic

    10. Turkey

    11. Norway

    Gro Harlem Brundtland was prime minister of Norway from 1986 to 1989 and again from 1990 to 1996, and Erna Solberg has been prime minister since 2013. (Also, Anne Enger Lahnstein was acting prime minister briefly in 1998.)

    12. United Kingdom

    Margaret Thatcher was prime minister of the United Kingdom from 1979 to 1990, and Theresa May has been prime minister since July 2016. Also, Nicola Sturgeon has been first minister of Scotland since 2014, and Arlene Foster has been first minister of Northern Ireland since January 2016.

    13. Senegal

    Mame Madior Boye was prime minister of Senegal from 2001 to 2002, and Aminata Touré was prime minister from 2013 to 2014.

    14. Iceland

    Jóhanna Sigurðardóttir was prime minister of Iceland from 2009 to 2013, and Vigdís Finnbogadóttir was president from 1980 to 1996 – also, Iceland has just elected a new prime minister, Katrín Jakobsdóttir.

    15. Lithuania

    Kazimira Prunskiene was prime minister of Lithuania from 1990 to 1991, Irena Degutienė was acting prime minister twice, briefly, in 1999, and Dalia Grybauskaitė has been president since 2009.

    16. Portugal

    17. France

    18. Israel

    Golda Meir was prime minister of Israel from 1969 to 1974, and Dalia Itzik was acting president in 2007.

    19. Canada

    Kim Campbell was prime minister of Canada for 132 days in 1993.

    20. Mongolia

    Nyam-Osoryn Tuyaa was very briefly the acting prime minister of Mongolia in July 1999, and Sükhbaataryn Yanjmaa was acting chair of the Presidium of the State Great Khural from 1953 to 1954.

    21. Dominica

    22. Haiti

    23. Poland

    Hanna Suchocka was prime minister of Poland from 1992 to 1993, Ewa Kopacz was prime minister from 2014 to 2015, and Beata Szydło has been prime minister since 2015.

    24. Burundi

    25. Rwanda

    26. Bulgaria

    27. Guyana

    28. New Zealand

    Jenny Shipley was prime minister of New Zealand from 1997 to 1999, and Helen Clark was prime minister from 1999 to 2008.

    29. São Tomé and Príncipe

    Maria das Neves was prime minister of São Tomé and Príncipe from 2002 to 2004, and Maria do Carmo Silveira was prime minister from 2005 to 2006.

    30. Finland

    Anneli Jäätteenmäki was prime minister of Finland in 2003, Mari Kiviniemi was prime minister from 2010 to 2011, and Tarja Halonen was president from 2000 to 2012.

    31. Peru

    Beatriz Merino was prime minister of Peru in 2003, Rosario Fernández was prime minister in 2011, and Ana Jara was prime minister from 2014 to 2015.

    32. Mozambique

    33. Macedonia

    34. Germany

    35. South Korea

    Han Myeong-Sook was prime minister of South Korea from 2006 to 2007, and Chang Sang was acting prime minister for 20 days in July 2002. Park Geun-hye has been president since 2013.

    36. Moldova

    Zinaida Greceanîi was prime minister of Moldova from 2008 to 2009, and Natalia Gherman was acting prime minister briefly in 2015.

    37. Croatia

    Jadranka Kosor was prime minister of Croatia from 2009 to 2011, and Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović has been president since 2015.

    38. Madagascar

    39. Trinidad and Tobago

    40. Australia

    41. Slovakia

    42. Mali

    43. Panama

    44. Indonesia

    45. Thailand

    46. Slovenia

    47. Kyrgyzstan

    48. Liberia

    49. Denmark

    50. Guinea-Bissau

    Adiato Djaló Nandigna was acting prime minister of Guinea-Bissau in 2012, and Carmen Pereira was acting president very briefly in 1984.

    51. The Bahamas

    52. Myanmar

    53. Latvia

    Laimdota Straujuma was prime minister of Latvia from 2014 to 2016, and Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga was president from 1999 to 2007.

    54. San Marino

    55. Namibia

    56. Greece

    57. China

    58. Argentina

    Isabel Martínez de Perón was president of Argentina from 1974 to 1976 – and the first female president anywhere in the world. Cristina Fernández de Kirchner was president of Argentina from 2007 to 2015.

    59. Bolivia

    60. South Africa

    61. Malta

    Agatha Barbara was president of Malta from 1982 to 1987, and Marie Louise Coleiro Preca has been president since 2014.

    62. Switzerland

    Elisabeth Kopp was the first female member of the Swiss Federal Council from 1984 to 1989, a seven-member council that serves as the country's joint head of state, which Ruth Dreifuss also served on from 1993 to 2002, Ruth Metzler-Arnold from 1999 to 2003, Micheline Calmy-Rey from 2003 to 2011, Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf from 2008 to 2015, Doris Leuthard since 2006, and Simonetta Sommaruga since 2010. Shout-out to Switzerland for being ~a little bit different~.

    63. Nicaragua

    64. Ecuador

    65. Georgia

    66. Austria

    Barbara Prammer was co-acting president of Austria for two days in 2004, and Doris Bures has been co-acting president since July 2016.

    67. Chile

    68. Gabon

    69. Costa Rica

    70. Brazil

    71. Kosovo

    72. Mauritius

    Monique Ohsan Bellepeau was acting president of Mauritius in 2012, and Ameenah Gurib has been president since 2015.

    73. Serbia

    74. Malawi

    75. Central African Republic

    76. Marshall Islands

    77. Nepal

    78. Taiwan

    79. Estonia